Skip to main content




January 22, 2014
CONTACT: K.E. Schwab

Nine SRU athletes receive Hansen All-Super Region One honors

BROOKFIELD, Ill.Nine members of the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference runner-up Slippery Rock University football team have been named members of the Don Hansen Football Gazette All-Region Committee’s 2013 NCAA Division II All-Super Region One squad.
The Rock had the second-highest number of first-team selections and tied for the second-highest total number of student-athletes honored among the 49 Super Region 1 teams on the 2013 squad.

Named to the first-team squad were: Nigel Barksdale, a pre-physical therapy major from San Jacinto, Calif., and the team’s quarterback; James McCombie, a park and resource management major from Nicktown and a punter; John Schademan, a business major from Pittsburgh and a wide receiver; and Cory Tucker, a physical education major from South Park and a redshirt offensive tackle.

Anthony Saunders, a safety management major from New Kensington and a cornerback, earned second-team all-region honors. Quindell Dean, a criminal justice major from Uniontown; Austin Miele, an exercise science major from Valencia and a safety; Tony Papley, a parks and recreation major from Slippery Rock and nose guard; and Derek Walker, a safety management major from Pittsburgh and defensive tackle, were named to the third team.
Region champion West Chester placed five players on the first team, while The Rock had four and regional runner-up Shepherd and PSAC champion Bloomsburg had three each.

The Rock finished the 2013 season with a 9-3 win-loss record, claimed its second PSAC-West championship in the last three seasons and earned its first NCAA Division II playoff berth since 1999. The team was also ranked 21st in the final AFCA Division II Coaches’ Top 25 national poll and 23rd in the final national poll.
The Don Hansen team carries out the legacy of long-time, small college football advocate Don Hansen, who died at age 75 in 2010. Hansen started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988. The Gazette began selecting Division II All-Region squads in 2003.

Super Region 1 is compiled of 49 football-playing universities from four conferences, including the PSAC, Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association, Mountain East Conference and Northeast-10 Conference. A total of 40 teams and 130 players were represented on this year’s Hansen all-region teams.

Slippery Rock University is Pennsylvania's premier public residential university. Slippery Rock University provides students with a comprehensive learning experience that intentionally combines academic instruction with enhanced educational and learning opportunities that make a positive difference in their lives.