Skip to main content




February 14, 2014
CONTACT: K.E. Schwab

Women of Distinction nominees sought

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - The Slippery Rock University President's Commission on the Status of Women is seeking nominations for its Women of Distinction Award.

Nomination and recommendations forms, or letters, must be returned to Sharon Elwell, clerk typist in the School of Physical Therapy, by April 17.

The form and details, including a list of previous recipients, may be downloaded from:

"The Women of Distinction Award at SRU was started in 1997," said Cindy LaCom, SRU professor of English, director of the Women's Studies Program and president of the Commission on the Status of Women. "The award honors student, staff, faculty and administrative women who have distinguished themselves through their mentoring and support of women and demonstrated commitment to campus efforts to be more inclusive and respectful of women at the University."

"We hope people will take advantage of this wonderful opportunity to recognize women on this campus who have made an exceptional effort to provide leadership and mentoring to others and who work to create a supportive climate for women, on and off campus," she said.

A committee selects the recipients from those nominated, with the awards presented at the annual Women's Studies and President's Commission on the Status of Women Mentoring Dinner at 5 p.m., Oct. 7.

Slippery Rock University is Pennsylvania's premier public residential university. Slippery Rock University provides students with a comprehensive learning experience that intentionally combines academic instruction with enhanced educational and learning opportunities that make a positive difference in their lives.