Skip to main content




April 17, 2012
CONTACT: K.E. Schwab


Galbraith earns ACBSP 2012 Teaching Excellence Award

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. – Diane Galbraith, assistant professor in Slippery Rock University’s School of Business, has been named the recipient of the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs 2012 Teaching Excellence Award for the Eastern Council of Business Schools and Programs in Region 2.

           The award is supported by a financial contribution from the University of Indianapolis – Athens Campus, in Athens, Greece.  

           As a regional recipient, Galbraith, who joined the SRU faculty in 2003, is now a candidate for the 2012 ACBSP International Teaching Excellence Award,                             Galbraith will be among those honored at the 2012 ACBSP Annual Conference in Baltimore, Md., June 15-18.

           She will receive a medallion and $100.

           Two International Teaching Excellence Award recipients will be announced at a special Salute to Regions luncheon, one from a baccalaureate/graduate degree-granting institution and one from an associate degree-granting institution.                    

           “Many faculty are excellent teachers. Many are excellent in the area of professional development. Many demonstrate great service commitment. Not many excel to the extent Dr. Galbraith does in all of the criteria areas for this award. Diane truly cares about her students, the success of our programs, and about the community,” said David Culp, of SRU’s School of Business.

            The Associate Degree Commission of ACBSP established the International Teaching Excellence Award in 1995 to recognize outstanding classroom teachers. In 2002, the Baccalaureate Degree Commission created a similar award to recognize excellence in teaching at the baccalaureate degree level. ACBSP is the only specialized accrediting body for business schools that presents an award recognizing excellence in teaching, open to application by the entire membership.

“It is more important than ever for business programs to produce graduates who are ready to enter the global marketplace,” said Douglas Viehland, ACBSP executive director. “ACBSP has a mission to develop, promote and recognize best practices that contribute to continuous improvement of business education. Recognition of teaching excellence is one way we achieve this goal,” he stated.

ACBSP has more than 1,051 member campuses in 50 countries and 10 regions.

Slippery Rock University is Pennsylvania’s premier public residential university. Slippery Rock University provides students with a comprehensive learning experience that intentionally combines academic instruction with enhanced educational and learning opportunities that make a positive difference in their lives.