Skip to main content




April 25, 2014
CONTACT: K.E. Schwab

SRU honors graduate students


Slippery Rock University's Graduate Admissions Office will honor 21 graduate students for their outstanding efforts as part of Sunday's Graduate Admission Honors Reception in the Russell Wright Alumni House and Conference Center.

Brandi Weber-Mortimer, graduate admissions director, will host the program.

Phillp Way, provost and vice president for academic affairs, will offer a welcome.

Representatives from various academic departments will present the awards.

Receiving the counseling and development department Outstanding Graduate Student Award are:

•Kayla Shawley from Normalville, in school counseling;

•Kristin Gregory from West Homestead, in student affairs in higher education;

•Danielle Andreozzi from Wexford, in community counseling, addictions counseling; and

•Erin LaRue from Beaver, in community counseling, youth counseling.

•The criminology and criminal justice Outstanding Graduate Award will go to:

•Daralyn Carr from Laceyville, in criminal justice.

The elementary education/early childhood department Outstanding Graduate Student Award will go to:

•Jamie Badaracco from Wexford, in elementary education K-12 readings specialist;

•Susan Hall from Saxonburg, in elementary education K- 8 math and science;

•The nursing department Outstanding Graduate Award will go to:

•Lynne Rodrigues from Cranberry Township, in nursing; and

•Nancy Schwartz from Quakertown, in school nurse.

The SRU parks and recreation/environmental education Outstanding Graduate Student Award will go to:

•Dustin Hall of Sidney, Ohio, in park and resource management and environmental education.

•The physical and health education department's Outstanding Graduate Award will go to:

•Leona Mostowski from Piscataway, N.J., in adapted physical activity.

•The School of Physical Therapy Outstanding Graduate Award recipients are:

•Evan Andreyo from Butler, a second-year doctoral student;

•Shaina Sandrock from Oil City, a second-year doctoral student;

•Sarah Moore from Spartansburg, S.C., a third-year doctoral student; and

•Sarah Veltre from Nineveh, a third-year doctoral student.

The secondary education/foundations of education department's Outstanding Graduate Student Award will go to:

•Jenessa Allshouse from West Sunbury, in secondary education teaching mathematics and recipient of the David Czapor Outstanding Mathematics Education Memorial Award;

•Ryan Castor from Sewickley, in secondary education teaching biology.

•And, the special education department's Outstanding Graduate Award goes to:

•Heather McElhone from Charleroi, in special education school supervision and recipient of the Dr. Dennis T. Fair Award for the Outstanding Graduate Student in Special Education; and

•Kalli Wakefield from Avon Lake, Ohio, in special education autism, who will also receive the Candice D. Berner Adventurous Spirit Memorial Award.

Slippery Rock University is Pennsylvania's premier public residential university. Slippery Rock University provides students with a comprehensive learning experience that intentionally combines academic instruction with enhanced educational and learning opportunities that make a positive difference in their lives.