Skip to main content




May 24, 2012
CONTACT: K.E. Schwab

SRU honors 45 staff for service

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - Acting Slippery Rock University President Charles Curry has honored 45 University employees for their years of dedicated service.

"Slippery Rock University would not be Slippery Rock University without you," Curry said. "I applaud and thank you for your commitment and dedication."

Curry, who is also vice president for administrative affairs, was among those honored for his 25 years at SRU.

He used the luncheon assembly to list some of the University's recent accomplishments, including being named to the President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll for the second straight year, being named one of the top 100 Regional Universities in the North - and a top 30 public university in the region - by U.S. News & World Report, being honored by The Princeton Review as one of the "Best Colleges and Universities in the Northeast" and being named a "Military Friendly" university by G.I. Jobs magazine.

He said the University's greatest current challenge "is the budget. We will be hearing more in the next few weeks as the House, Senate and governor begin the process of developing a final version of the budget. So stay tuned, and stay involved. These next few weeks will be critical."

Receiving service awards were:

40 years:
Linda Quidone, Office for Students with Disabilities, Renfrew.

35 years:
Dixie Hogue, Office of Academic Affairs, Slippery Rock, and Debra Pincek, Office of Student Life Administration, Butler.

30 years:
William Williams, Office of Academic Affairs, Slippery Rock

25 years:
Charles Curry, Office of the President, Slippery Rock; Dennis Colosimo, facilities and planning, Slippery Rock; Laurel Dagnon, Community Service Learning Institute, Slippery Rock; Cynthia Dillon, Office of Academic Affairs, Slippery Rock; Karen Hogg, College of Humanities, Fine and Performing Arts, Slippery Rock; Carla Hradisky-Coffelt, Office of Retention Services, New Castle; Leigh McGuirk, College of Business, Information and Social Sciences, New Wilmington; Linda Moore, Office of Budget and Fiscal Planning, Harrisville; Lynne Motyl, Office of Human Resources, Zelienople; Patricia Pink, safety management, Slippery Rock; Marjorie Riddell, Payroll Office, West Sunbury; Steven Roberts, campus recreation, Mercer; Joseph Walton, athletics, Slippery Rock; and Jon Zavacky, Office of Computing Services, Butler.

20 years:
Robert Hesselgesser of Slippery Rock, Doran Keeley of Bessemer, Donna Peters of Mercer and Calvin Rippey of Butler, all in facilities and planning; Mark McGarvey, printing services, Hilliards; John Shaffer, University Police, Stoneboro; Kimberley Tissue, Admissions Office, Slippery Rock; and Evelyn Weiss, Office of Student Accounts, Slippery Rock.

15 years:
Anthony Colosimo of Boyers, Donald Green of Butler and Donald Martin of Slippery Rock, all in facilities and planning; Larry McFeely, central receiving, Boyers; Jodi Solito, SRU Women's Center, Butler; and Elizabeth Stevens, Admissions Office, Butler

10 years:
Sandra Busch of Pittsburgh, Lisa Gray of Butler and Gordon Ovenshine of Seven Hills, all in University Public Relations; Robert McComas, Sports Information, Slippery Rock; Anthony Calhoun of Franklin, Brenda Evans of Slippery Rock, Donald Keeley of New Castle and Lisa Luntz of Evans City, all in facilities and planning; Maria Malacaman, residence life, Butler; Shelly Ogoreuc, health services, Grove City; Julie Varnish, Center for Student Leadership, Pittsburgh; Sean Voorhees, McKeever Environmental Learning Center, Jackson Center; and Nancy Warcup, physical education, Slippery Rock

Photos of the various service award categories are available for downloading at:; Search for: SRUPR 2012 Service Awards.