Skip to main content




Dec. 10, 2012
CONTACT: K. E. Schwab

American Association of Petroleum Geologists honor Burkhart

Patrick Burkhart, Slippery Rock University professor of geography, geology and the environment, has been named the 2013 recipient of the Division of Environmental Geosciences Public Outreach Award by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists.

Founded in 1917, the AAPG is the world's largest professional geological society.

Burkhart, who is also president of the SRU chapter of the Association of Pennsylvania State, College and University Faculty, joined the faculty in 1998.

The Public Outreach Award is given for efforts and accomplishments in projecting, promoting and presenting environmental concerns and subjects to the public-at-large.

Burkhart’s nomination by the AAPG’s honors and awards committee was unanimously accepted by the division’s executive committee, according to Norma Newby, manager of divisions for the AAPG based in Tulsa, Okla.

The SRU professor will receive the award at the 2013 ACE in Pittsburgh next May.

AAPG members are geologists, geophysicists, chief executive officers, managers, consultants, students and academicians. The purpose of the organization is to foster scientific research, advance the science of geology, promote technology and inspire high professional conduct.

Slippery Rock University is Pennsylvania's premier public residential university. Slippery Rock University provides students with a comprehensive learning experience that intentionally combines academic instruction with enhanced educational and learning opportunities that make a positive difference in their lives.