Skip to main content




Feb. 24, 2011
Updated: Feb. 29, 2012
CONTACT: K.E. Schwab


SRU trustees name three continuing presidential candidates

 SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. – Slippery Rock University’s Council of Trustees have identified three continuing candidates for president of the University. Their names have been forwarded to John Cavanaugh, chancellor of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education, and the board of governors for further consideration.

The three were presented by the presidential search committee and confirmed by the trustees in a unanimous voice vote resolution last Friday.

 The continuing candidates are:

·                        David Dauwalder – Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at the University of New Haven;

·                        Jack Maynard – Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at Indiana State University; and

·                        Cheryl Norton – former president of Southern Connecticut State University who is currently a fellow with the American Association of State Colleges and Universities.

 “I am pleased to report that our committee has fulfilled its duties and through this report has recommended three outstanding candidates to the council of trustees for its consideration and to, in turn, forward to the PASSHE chancellor and the board of governors,” said Eric Holmes, an SRU trustee and chair of the search committee.

“Our work culminated Feb. 23, when the committee met for its final deliberations. With a spirit of collaboration, the committee worked through the challenge to absorb all of the input and to make final determinations on five outstanding candidates. After much discussion, we as a committee, elected to advance the names of the three candidates, who, in our opinion, would best serve Slippery Rock University and at its needs at this particular time,” Holmes said.

 “I want to thank the search committee and the executive staff for their input and dedicated work in arriving at the current list of candidates,” said Joshua Young, council chair. “I want to especially thank Eric for this leadership of the search committee. I also want to thank those who are carrying on the University’s business, including Acting President [Charles] Curry, as we move forward in selecting the 16th president of Slippery Rock University.”

The three candidates were selected from six candidates invited to campus for interviews following an application review and off-site interviews.

More than 75 applicants from across the nation applied to fill the position that became available upon the retirement of Robert Smith, who served as the 15th president of the University since 2004. Smith retired Feb. 10, 2012.

As per board of governor guidelines for the selection of a president, the search committee was required to forward the names of three candidates to the council of trustees for approval. The trustees then review the recommendation and, if acceptable, send the names to the chancellor and board of governors for consideration. The chancellor and board will review the recommendations, interview candidates and select the next president. It is hoped a new president will be in place by summer.

Complete vitas of the continuing candidates may be read at:


Slippery Rock University is Pennsylvania’s premier public residential university. Slippery Rock University provides students with a comprehensive learning experience that intentionally combines academic instruction with enhanced educational and learning opportunities that make a positive difference in their lives.