Skip to main content

 Slippery Rock University presents five MLK Civil Leadership Awards 



January 23, 2008
Contact: K.E. Schwab


Slippery Rock University presents five MLK Civil Leadership Awards


SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - Students, staff and a community member were honored Monday with Slippery Rock University's 2008 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Civil Leadership Award for their demonstrated support of civil rights, advocacy for social justice and demonstrated leadership in motivating others toward an understanding of, and quest for, civil rights and social justice for all people, regardless of race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation age or ableism.

            The five received their honors as part of SRU's fifth annual Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Day of Service. More than 250 student volunteers turned out for the program and to participate in community-service events in Slippery Rock, Grove City and News Castle. Na'im Akbar, a research associate in the Florida State University psychology department, delivered the day's keynote address.

            Leadership award recipients were:

  • Rashad Brown, a junior from Aliquippa majoring in community health. He is president of the Black Action Society, an executive board member of the Student Union for Minority Affairs and a Cooperative Activities board member.
  • Emelda Jones, a senior from Pittsburgh majoring in special education. She is a Transition Student Development Series co-coordinator, and president of Lambda Sigma Chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority and the National Pan Hellenic Council.
  • Claudia Fischer, executive staff assistant to the vice president for student life. She chaired the services project committee for this year' MLK Day of Service and participates in the Whites Against Racism study group at SRU.
  • Philip Tramdack, director of library services at Bailey Library. He participates in the Whites Against Racism study group and is a regular participant in the informal luncheon series sponsored by the President's Commission for Racial and Ethnic Diversity.
  • Diane Magliocca, a staff member at the Newman Center. She chaired the volunteer committee for the 2008 MLK Day of Service and has been involved in planning the King Day of Service from its inception.

            The awards selection committee included: Sandra J. Stevenson, director of training and employee services, Christophas Walker, assistant professor of academic services and director of the Frederick Douglass Institute, and Colleen Cooke, associate professor of parks and recreation/environmental education.



Slippery Rock University is Pennsylvania's premier public residential university. Slippery Rock University provides students with a comprehensive learning experience that intentionally combines academic instruction with enhanced educational and learning opportunities that make a positive difference in their lives.


Click here to view the Economic Impact Report

Click here to view the Economic Impact Report