Skip to main content

 13th Annual Chad Williamson Memorial Scholarship Competition Set 




Contact: K.E. Schwab  -- 724-738-2199;  e-mail:


     SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. –  The 13th annual Chad Williamson Memorial Scholarship Competition will be held at 7 p.m. Friday [Oct. 21] in Swope Recital Hall with 17 Slippery Rock University voice majors competing for the award that honors the late Slippery Rock High School graduate who planned to attend SRU.

     This year’s competition will be judged by Rebecca Turner, a soprano and member of the Deutsche Oper am Rhein in Dusseldorf, Germany, and associate professor of voice in the College of Creative Arts at West Virginia University. Turner holds a bachelor of music degree in piano, performance and pedagogy from Shorter College and a master’s degree in piano performance in accompanying from the University of North Texas in Denton. Her vocal training work was undertaken at Shorter College leading to her becoming a member of the solo ensemble with the Gremen, Germany opera company where she performed before moving to Dusseldorf.

     Turner has delivered more than 500 performances, including lead soprano roles in “Der fliegende Hollander,” “Lohengrin,” “Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg,” “Der Freischutz,” “Aida,” “Il Trovatore,” and a host of others.

     She has performed in numerous opera houses in Frankfurt, Cologne, Hannover, Mannheim, Wiesbaden, Darmstadt, Dortmund as well as at the Shanghai Grand Theater in Shanghai, China, and in cities across the U.S., Austria, France and Germany.

           The scholarship competition, one of the most popular in the music department, provides SRU music majors the opportunity to demonstrate their vocal talent and allows the local community to both see and hear the performing arts talent of university voice students. The scholarship was created by Mr. Williamson’s family, including his mother Mrs. Karen Hickok, as a means of helping SRU’s music department attract talented vocal performers.

      Participating music student are:

Christiana HowellErie

Nick Kochanov           North Huntingdon

Deanna Wolfgong   Franklin

Lauren Paterra          Bentleyville

Beth Nagy         Connellsville

Jordan Bowser           Parker

Michael Zeiler          Natrona Heights

Ashleigh Weimer   Connellsville

Jessica Brown           Ridgeway

Megan Zulauf            New Castle

Amber Nesbitt           West Mifflin

Ashley Richards   Harmony

Stephen Ball            Butler

Darcie Bell*            East Brady

Lisa Cifrulak           Jefferson Hills

Amanda Minor            Johnstown

Michael Desnoyers*      Allegany, N.Y.

* Not Competing




Click here to view the Economic Impact Report

Click here to view the Economic Impact Report