Skip to main content

 SRU Alumni Association honors 16 with $15,300 in scholarships 




February 5, 2009

Contact: K.E. Schwab  




SRU Alumni Association honors 16 with $15,300 in scholarships


SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - The Slippery Rock University Alumni Association's scholarships and awards committee will present $15,300 to 16 scholars as part of its annual awards dinner.

            The dinner will be 5 p.m. April 4 in the Russell Wright Alumni House and Conference Center.       The scholarships will apply to the 2009-10 academic year.

            Teresa DeBacco, a dance major from West Sunbury will receive the $1,500 Carl and Norma Watson Laughner Scholarship.

            Receiving $1,000 Maree McKay/Esther Smiley Scholarships are (by major and hometown):

           Lindsey Hamilton          Secondary education      Strattanville

           Krystina Herman           Elementary education    Morrisdale

           Megan Irwin                 Elementary education    Altoona

           Bethany Kling               Elementary education    Jamestown, N.Y.                      

           Marissa Lang                Dance/Business administration   Beaver

           Jessica Sackin               Elementary education    Bessemer

           Ashley Sieczkowski       Exercise science           Lower Burrell

           Seth Sykora-Bodie         Political science             Harrisville

           Emily Wells-Pratt          Creative writing             Slippery Rock

            William Elliott, a health and physical education major from Sarver, and Sean Murphy, a music education major from Cranberry Township, will receive the $1,000 Madeline Farnen Scholarship for Education Majors.

           Christine Bette, a health and physical education major from, Cicero, N.Y., will receive the $1,000 Eisaman Alumni Scholarship for Sophomore Students.

            Michelle Fetzer, a psychology major from Clarion, will receive the $800 Maggie Meise Fellowship for Graduate Students.

           Shari Bauer, an elementary education major from Wexford, will receive the $500 Anna Brua Williams Scholarship for Women Elementary Education Majors.

            Heather Herbert, an elementary education major from Wexford, will receive the $500 Hallie Dugan Smith/Nancy Smith Angell Scholarship.

           Members of this year's scholarship and awards committee were: Patrick Mooney, a 1961 graduate who served as chairperson; Bill Byrnes, '61, Lorraine Troiano-Barron,'57, Bruno Raso, '61, Bonnie McElhanney Lukasik, '63, Linda Williamson, '73 and Robert Watson, '70.


Slippery Rock University is Pennsylvania's premier public residential university. Slippery Rock University provides students with a comprehensive learning experience that intentionally combines academic instruction with enhanced educational and learning opportunities that make a positive difference in their lives.




Click here to view the Economic Impact Report

Click here to view the Economic Impact Report