Skip to main content

 SRU prepares for Middle States Council accreditation 




March 10, 2009

Contact: K.E. Schwab  



SRU prepares for Middle States Council accreditation


SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - Slippery Rock University is preparing for the decennial peer-accreditation review by the Middle States Council of Higher Education evaluation team for 2010-11. 

            "Our continued accreditation through the Middle States Council of Higher Education ensures those enrolling at Slippery Rock University that their education, and the education standards we adhere to are among the best in the nation," said William Williams, provost and vice president for academic affairs at SRU. "Preparing for the Middle States visits provides the University with an excellent opportunity to examine how we deliver on our mission, identify areas for continuous improvement and demonstrate all the ways in which we are an excellent institution. For these reasons, it is important the entire campus be engaged in the process."

           To prepare for the evaluation, the University has appointed a steering committee that includes: Carrie Birckbichler, director of Institutional Research; Bruce Russell, dean of the College of Business, Information and Social Sciences; Tom Daddesio, assistant professor of modern languages and cultures; Linda Moore, assistant director of accounting services; Christine Pease-Hernandez, assistant professor of communication; Simeon Ananou, assistant provost for Information and Administrative Technology Services; Betsy McKinley, associate professor of physical education; Philip Tramdack, director of Bailey Library; Edward Bucha, executive director of University Advancement; Holly McCoy, assistant vice president for the Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity; Jessamine Montero, assistant director of the Office of Multicultural Programs; Theresa Wajda, associate professor in the School of Business; Mark Shotwell, associate professor of biology; Amanda Yale, associate provost in the Office of Enrollment Services; Nancy Cruikshank, director of the Office of Grants and Sponsored Research; Susan Hannam, dean of the College of Health, Environment and Science; Julie Snow, associate professor of geography, geology and the environment; Thomas Flynn, professor of communication; Carlis White, assistant professor of history; Neil Cosgrove, professor of English; Cindi Dillon, assistant to the provost in the Office of Academic Affairs; Dixie Hogue, clerk typist in elementary education and early childhood; and Samantha Kelly, an SRU graduate student.

           The steering committee is responsible for completion of the self-study, which will provide a summary evaluation of the University. The summary will address means by which the University meets accreditation expectations and standards in relation to: mission, goals and objectives; students; faculty; educational programs and curricula; library and learning resources; institutional effectiveness and outcomes; planning and resources allocation; financial resources; organization, administration and governance; governing board; facilities, equipment and other resources; and catalogs, publications and other promotional materials.

           The self-study steering committee is developing the self-study design and inviting students, faculty and staff to serve on various sub-committees.  

           An SRU Middle States Web site is available at: to keep the campus community involved in the process, faculty, staff, administrators and students are encouraged to share their concerns, issues and insights with the committee through its Web site or blog: .  

Slippery Rock University is Pennsylvania's premier public residential university. Slippery Rock University provides students with a comprehensive learning experience that intentionally combines academic instruction with enhanced educational and learning opportunities that make a positive difference in their lives.





Click here to view the Economic Impact Report

Click here to view the Economic Impact Report