Skip to main content

 SRU Alumni Association names Young Alumni Award winners 



March 26, 2010

CONTACT: K.E. Schwab



SRU Alumni Association names Young Alumni Award winners  


SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - Four Slippery Rock University graduates will be honored as 2010 SRU Alumni Association Young Alumni Award winners at the association's annual awards dinner April 17.

           The 5 p.m. event will be in the Russell Wright Alumni House and Conference Center. The association's scholarship recipients, announced earlier, will also be recognized along with the annual Senior Man of the Year and Senior Woman of the Year honorees.

            This year's Young Alumni Awards go to: Nicola Henry-Taylor, a 1993 graduate selected to represent the College of Humanities, Fine and Performing Arts; Gretchen Schumacher, a 1995 graduate, representing the College of Health, Environment and Sciences; Alicia Beighley, a 2000 graduate, representing the College of Education; and Jacques Moye, a member of the class of 1998, representing the College of Business, Information and Social Sciences.

Recipients of the awards must have graduated from SRU within the past 20 years and demonstrated a commitment to success in his/her personal and professional life along with excellence in his/her career since graduation. Alumni, faculty and staff of each of the four colleges nominate alumni. 

Selections are based on a committee review of nominations.

Henry-Taylor is a sole practitioner with 13 years' legal experience having served as both an assistant district attorney and as a firm attorney. In her six years as an assistant district attorney, she was the sole prosecutor responsible for managing the Allegheny County Mental Health Court and criminal defense. A proven leader in the legal community, she is the founding member and immediate past chair of the Allegheny Bar Association Diversity Collaborative.

Henry-Taylor serves on the executive council of the ACBA Women in the Law Division, and chairs three of its subcommittees, including the diversity collaborative, program development and professional development. She is vice chair of the ACBA Judiciary Committee. 

She is an active member of the PBA Minority Bar Committee, where she collaborated with committee members in planning business development programs. She is also a member of the Law Day Subcommittee of the PBA MBC. She serves as a Pittsburgh legal leader for the Muscular Dystrophy Association, acts as an adviser to the board of the Homeless Children's Fund and is a volunteer for Genesis of Pittsburgh Adoption and Foster Care Agency.

She earned her bachelor of arts degree in history at SRU, followed by her juris doctorate from Duquesne University. She has also studied at Oxford University and the John Jay School for Criminal Justice

Schumacher is an assistant professor of nursing at the Kirkhof College of Nursing at Grand Valley State University. Her honors and achievements include receiving the 2009 Hartford Summer Institute for Geriatric Nursing Research Scholars honor at New York University; the 2008 Outstanding Reviewer: Research in Social and Administrative Pharmacy; and the 2007 William Randolph Hearst Foundation Scholarship/GNP in education. She is certified by the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners as a family nurse practitioner and the American Nurses Credentialing Center as a general nurse practitioner. Her teaching interests include Advanced Practice Nursing/Family and Geriatrics. 

Schumacher's professional memberships include the National Organization for Nurse Practitioner Faculties; Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society; Epsilon Phi, in which she served as president; Kappa Epsilon; National Conference of Gerontological Nurse Practitioners; AANC; and Michigan Council of Nurse Practitioners, in which she served as president of the Grand Rapids Chapter. 

She has received numerous grants and publications and has a clinical practice in rural primary care and long-term care.

In addition to her SRU degree in nursing, Schumacher earned her doctorate in nursing at Duquesne University and her master of nursing degree from the University of Texas. She has also taken post-graduate work as a geriatric nurse practitioner.

Beighley, is assistant principal at Butler Junior High School and formerly served as assistant principal at Moniteau Junior/Senior High School in West Sunbury, dean of students at East Dale Elementary School and as a teacher at Fairmont Senior High School, both in Fairmont, W. Va. 

She is a member of the Butler Area School District Curriculum Council, IPD Council, Student Assistance Team and Crisis and Security Committee. She is a member of the National Association of Secondary Principals, Pennsylvania State Education Association, National Council of Teachers of English, West Virginia Education Association and Alpha Delta Kappa, international sorority for women educators. 

She is a recipient of the Graduate Fellowship Award from Indiana University of Pennsylvania, the Action Research Fellowship from West Virginia University, the Herff Jones Showcase Yearbook award and was named Polar Bear Teacher of the Month. She is listed in "Who's Who Among High School Teachers." 

While at SRU, she was president of Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honorary, and secretary of Phi Sigma Pi and the Golden Key International, both honoraries.

In addition to her SRU degree in secondary education, Beighley earned her master's degree from Virginia University. She has an Educational Leadership Certificate from Salem International University and has undertaken education work at Fairmont State University. She is enrolled in the Indiana University of Pennsylvania's doctorate in administration and leadership program.

Moye is an associate with the McGuireWoods law firm in Pittsburgh where he focuses on mergers, acquisitions and joint ventures, as well as private equity and venture capital matters. He also deals in Securities and Exchange Commission matters, municipal finance and other general corporate and securities work. Prior to joining the law firm, he was a senior professional in the business assurance and advisory services practice at Deloitte & Touche LLP, in Pittsburgh. He was a summer associate at McGuireWoods and an executive assistant in the Office of the Chief Executive of Allegheny County. 

Moye is a certified public accountant in Pennsylvania. He is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants. He is a member of the Allegheny County Sanitation Authority, Health Hope Network and Slippery Rock University International Studies Advisory Board.

He graduated from SRU with a degree in business administration and earned his juris doctorate from the Duquesne University School of Law. 

This year's award SRU selection committee included: Michael Saraka, director of alumni relations who also served as chair; Amy Bersett, assistant director of University advancement; Cynthia Dillon, assistant to the provost; Tina Moser, assistant to the president; John K. Hicks, assistant professor of secondary education; Richard Manning, immediate past president of the SRU Alumni Association; and Patrick Beswick, associate director of residence life

Tickets to the awards dinner are available for $18. For details contact the Office of Alumni Relations at 724.738.2018.


Slippery Rock University is Pennsylvania's premier public residential university. Slippery Rock University provides students with a comprehensive learning experience that intentionally combines academic instruction with enhanced educational and learning opportunities that make a positive difference in their lives,

Click here to view the Economic Impact Report

Click here to view the Economic Impact Report