Skip to main content

 SRU President Honors 52 on Staff for Dedication, Service 




Contact: K.E. Schwab  -- 724-738-2199;  e-mail:


     SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. –  Slippery Rock University President Robert Smith honored 52 university staff, including Kay Wolford, clerk steno III in elementary education/early childhood for her 40 years service, for their dedication and service to the University at the annual Staff Recognition Picnic.

     He called the staff the backbone of the University and cited their importance in keeping the University as a showcase for students, family and visitors. He also cited them for their commitment to students and to providing the services and support that keep students engaged in both their academics and extra-curricular activities.

     As part of the honors luncheon held in the University Union, Smith also covered many of the topics addressed in his recent “State of the University” address.

     Wolford was presented a handcrafted clock for her 40-years. Plaques were presented 25 to 35-year honorees and service pins were presented in the 10- 15- and 20-year categories.

     Those honored, by department and hometown were:

40-Year Award

Kay WolfordElementary Ed/Early ChildhoodSlippery Rock

35-Year Awards

Karen Busi  Computer Science  Slippery Rock

Dee Daugherty     College of Education    Butler

30-Year Awards

Becky Barber      Facilities and PlanningGrove City

Larry Forrest     McKeever Learning Center      Franklin

George Holtz      Facilities and PlanningSlippery Rock

Bill KreutzFacilities and PlanningSlippery Rock

Cathy Lake  Financial Aid     Slippery Rock

Barb Massella     President’s Office      Butler

Barb PorterBusiness, Information and Social Sciences       Slippery Rock

Leona Porter      Printing ServicesPortersville

Dave Regal  Facilities and PlanningForestville

Joanne Santus     Nursing     Slippery Rock    

Larry Stewart     Facilities and PlanningSlippery Rock

Harry Stuchal     Facilities and Planning       Slippery Rock

25-Year Awards

Ron Cowher  Administration. Information. Systems and Technology   West Sunbury

Brenda McKissick  International Initiatives     Slippery Rock

Lisa Smith  Theater     Grove City

20-Year Awards

Tawnya Curatola   Regional Learning Alliance    Enon Valley

Ann Curtis  Accounts Payable  Butler

Steve Dellich     Facilities and PlanningSlippery Rock

Jan Druschel      Academic Records/Summer School      Slippery Rock

Debbie Glenn      Exercise and Rehabilitative Sciences      Harrisville

Laurie Lokash     Athletics   Grove City

Joan Lutz   Counseling Center       Slippery Rock

Sharyn McGallis   Student Development     Grove City

Bob Moors   Heating Plant     Volant

Judy MorrisDanceVolant

15-Year Awards

Joan Allen  Facilities and PlanningGrove City

Naomi Burris      Student Life Administration  Slippery Rock

Chris Byrd  School of Business      Butler

Renee Decker      Center for Economic and Community Development   Slippery Rock

Gay DeMarshDiversity and Equal Opportunity     Grove City

Linda DuffyFacilities and Planning       Forestville

Leslie Edwards    Health Services   Slippery Rock

Tod Horner  Facilities and PlanningSlippery Rock

Deb JohnsonBiology     Franklin

Keith Martino     Facilities and Planning       Boyers

Bonnie MontgomeryUniversity Public Relations   Harrisville

Judy Scheidemantle      Facilities and PlanningPortersville

Linda Schuetz     Purchasing  Portersville

Kevin Spitzer     Facilities and PlanningSlippery Rock

Patty Staley      Facilities and PlanningPortersville

Drinda Weber      English     Grove City

10-Year Awards

Kim AllisonCampus RecreationSlippery Rock

Kathy Glerum      Health Services   Jackson Center

Bill GuineyFacilities and Planning       Slippery Rock

Barb Hogg   Health Services  Slippery Rock

Terri Kind  Printing Services       Slippery Rock

David Ledbetter   Dance       Butler

Les McDonald, Jr.University Police       Arnold




Click here to view the Economic Impact Report

Click here to view the Economic Impact Report