Skip to main content

 President Smith Honors 29 for Dedicated Service 




Contact: K.E. Schwab  -- 724-738-2199;  e-mail:


           SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. – Twenty-nine members of the Slippery Rock University staff were honored recently for their outstanding service and dedication to the university by newly named President Robert Smith.

              In his first, large-scale campus meeting since being named president, Smith congratulated all 29, saying he was honored to have his first event as president be with staff “who are so important to the working of the university and who give so much of yourselves to make Slippery Rock University a great university for students.”

          Honored with plaques or service pins in the various categories were:

35-year honors:

James Colosimo           Facilities and Planning           Slippery Rock

Richard DeMatteis           Facilities and Planning           Boyers

Shirley Jones           University Public Relations           Slippery Rock

Karen McKnight           Graduate Studies           Harrisville

Lydia Tiche           Facilities and Planning           Slippery Rock

Bonita Vinton           Geography, Geology and The Environment           Grove City

30-year honors:

Madlyn Englehart           Physical Education and Sport Management           Grove City

Helen Forsythe Kirk    College of Humanities, Fine and Performing Arts           Stoneboro

LaDonna Linamen           Facilities and Planning           Slippery Rock

William Watson           Facilities and Planning           Grove City

Angela Zimmerman           Retention Services           Slippery Rock

20-year honors:

Roy Burns           Facilities and Planning           Boyers

Thomas Elder           Facilities and Planning           Slippery Rock

Linda Newton           Psychology       Grove City

15-year honors:

Tracy Allison           Annual Fund   Slippery Rock

Mary Jane Andreassi           Facilities and Planning           Boyers

Gino Cicconi           User Services           New Castle

Janet Croll           Enrollment Services           Slippery Rock

Patricia Doyle           Contracts Office           Slippery Rock

Laura Hawkins           Health Services           Slippery Rock

Kimberly Saunders           NDSL OfficeFarrell

10-year honors:

Ora Cozad           Facilities and Planning           Mercer

Jill Fleske           Advancement Services           Slippery Rock

Frank Genareo           McKeever Environmental Learning Center           New Castle

Laura Holste           Orientation           Hermitage

Bruce Martin           Facilities and Planning           Grove City

Melvin Nagy           Facilities and Planning           Harrisville

Carole Sallmen           Academic Records and Summer School           New Castle

Ronald Van Dyke   Facilities and Planning           Harrisville


Click here to view the Economic Impact Report

Click here to view the Economic Impact Report