Skip to main content


2014 Natural Sciences and Mathematics Awards Banquet

Slippery Rock University

April 22, 2014


Outstanding Biology Senior: Kortnee Koziara

CPUB Outstanding Student: Kortnee Koziara

Outstanding Cytotechnology Junior: Caitlin Baron

Beta Beta Beta Senior Service Award: Kortnee Koziara

Sophomore Biology Honors Scholarships:

Aaron Onufrak and Brian Merritt

Achievement in Biology Scholarships:

Abbigal Progar, Brian Merritt, Justin Wills, and Aliya May

William R. Sigmund PJAS Award: Kayla Sommers

William Ralston Scholarship: Andrew Zelasco

Family Campaign Scholarship: Leah Marshall

Leucojum Award in Botany: Aaron Onufrak

Biology Honors Scholarship: Rachel Hollingsworth

Beta Beta Beta Alumni Scholarship: Krista Frank

A. P. Vincent Scholarship: Kelsey Gustafson

John P. Phillips Scholarship: Kathyrn Rickard

Frank A. Pugliese "Rock" Scholarship: Kevin Squires

James Kell Scholarship: Kayla Sommers

Christopher F. Cuff Scholarship: Meghan Thompson

Rhoda Taylor Scholarship: Jayme Fend

George Smith Research Grant:  Meghan Thompson

Scholarships for incoming freshmen:

Thomas John Scholarship: Kayli Roth

Thomas W. Gaither Scholarship: Aubrey Wiesner

Wayne L. Miller, M.D. Scholarship: Sarah Little

Aaron Onufrak renewed on the James Steel Scholarship

Kayla Sommers renewed on the Genevieve Tvrdik Scholarship.

Katy Rickard received the CHES Leadership in Science scholarship.

Note:  2014 pictures will be posted in the near future





Dr. Sigmund's faculty website

On April 22, 2014, the "School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics" Awards Banquet was held in the Smith Center Ballroom. While no longer in existence (NSM was a "school" in the former College of Arts and Sciences), the departments still share their common bond in math and sciences and have continued the tradition of an annual spring awards banquet. Provost Philip Way welcomed the attendees and Dr. David Krayesky, Department of Biology, served as the Master of Ceremonies. The evening provided a wonderful opportunity to honor our outstanding students and scholarship winners.