Skip to main content





Announcement of Scholarships

Application Deadline: March 17, 2015

We would like to announce 10 scholarships for the academic year 2015/16!

These scholarships are available to majors in the Department of Geography, Geology, and the Environment and offer between $500 and $2000.

In order to be qualified for any scholarship in the department, you need to be a full-time student and remain that status during the academic year 2015/16. You also need a minimum 3.0 QPA overall earned at SRU.

Apply for any scholarship by:

  • Completing the general application form. We will consider your application for all scholarships that are available to you based on your current major.
  • Writing an essay on one out of two topics:

Topic 1: Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of natural gas drilling in western Pennsylvania.

Topic 2: Discuss in detail one environmental problem associated with climate change.

Elaborating on a different topic is possible but must be approved by the scholarship committee.


  • The essay should be well written and at a minimum 500 words in length.

Submitting your essay, a copy of your DARS report and the completed application form to Mrs. Cindy Schnur (319 ATS) by March 17, 2015.

Available Scholarships in the Department of Geography, Geology, and the Environment

Alumni Scholarship in Geology

Flash Yarger Scholarship

William Anderson Scholarship

Michael A. Starker Scholarship

Paul F. Rizza Scholarship

Pearl K. Stoner Scholarship (not available for 2015)

Robert A. Davis Scholarship 

North Country Brewing Company Scholarship (not available for 2015) 

Environmental Geoscicence Scholarship

Gene and Joanne Wilhelm Scholarship

Matthew Veltri Scholarship (not available for 2015)

Timothy Trautman Scholarship

Photos of past recipients

Available Scholarships in the College of Health, Environment and Science

Coen Family Foundation Scholarship -- application

Leadership in Science Scholarship --application

Lyne Earnes Women in Science Scholarship

Contact: CHES Dean's Office (#325 P.T. Building) (724) 738-2213

Other Scholarships

Other Slippery Rock University scholarships

The Richard G. Snyder Family Scholarship for Agriculture and Mineral and Earth Science--information

Two Darrel Hess Community College Geography $1,000 Scholarships will be awarded to students from community colleges, junior colleges, city colleges, or similar two-year educational institutions who will be transferring as geography majors to four year colleges and universities.


Featured Student
Andy Franze
Andy Franze - Featured Student

Apply Now Request Information

News and EventsCareersStudents and AlumniTrip and Event Photos