Skip to main content

 Academic Department Chairpersons 



In the division of Academic Affairs, there are thirty department chairpersons who are elected by their peers to direct the department's administrative organization.  Approximately 400 faculty teach at the University.


College of Business, Information and Social Sciences

School of Business
Dr. Bruce Orvis
Dr. Frances Amatucci, Assistant 

Department of Communication
Dr. Thomas Flynn

Department of Computer Science
Dr. Deborah Whitfield
Dr. Hongbo Zhou, Assistant

Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Dr. Patrick Harvey

Department of Military Science 
Lt. Col. Joseph Alessi, Ph.D.

Department of Professional Studies and Interdisciplinary Programs 
Dr. Armand Policicchio

Department of Safety Management
Dr. Joseph Cali

Department of Sport Management
Dr. Catriona Higgs

College of Education

Department of Counseling and Development
Dr. Michael Ignelzi

Department of Elementary Education/Early Childhood
Dr. Mary T. Vetere
Dr. Marilyn Yensick, Assistant

Department of Physical Education      
Dr. Randall Nichols
Dr. Joanne Leight, Assistant

Department of Secondary Education/Foundations of Education
Dr. Edwin Christmann

Department of Special Education
Dr. Joseph Merhaut

College of Health, Environment and Science

Department of Biology
Dr. Jerry Chmielewski

Department of Chemistry
Dr. Susan Zirpoli

Department of Exercise and Rehabilitative Sciences
Dr. Patricia Pierce 
Dr. Jeffrey Lynn, Assistant 
Dr. Jackie Williams, Assistant

Department of Geography, Geology and the Environment
Dr. Michael Zieg

Department of Mathematics
Dr. Richard Marchand

Department of Nursing 
Dr. Mary Ann Thurkettle

Department of Parks and Recreation
Dr. Daniel Dziubek

School of Physical Therapy
Dr. Carol Martin-Elkins

Department of Physics and Pre-Engineering
Dr. Athula Herat

Department of Psychology
Dr. Jennifer Sanftner

Department of Public Health and Social Work
Dr. Michael Cleary

College of Humanities, Fine and Performing Arts

Department of Art
Mr. Jon Shumway

Department of Dance
Ms. Ursula Payne

Department of English
Dr. Danette DiMarco
Dr. Erica Scott, Assistant

Department of History
Dr. Lia Paradis

Department of Modern Languages and Cultures
Dr. Ana Maria Caula

Department of Music
Dr. Susan Hadley

Department of Philosophy
Dr. Katherine Cooklin

Department of Political Science
Dr. George Brown

Department of Theatre
Mr. Gordon Phetteplace

Student Services

Counseling Services
Dr. Carol Holland

Department of Academic Services
Dr. Mark Campbell

Library Services
Ms. Catherine Rudowsky


Chairpersons' Meeting August 23, 2012

Performance Funding Powerpoint Presentation