SRU Jazz Ensemble tunes up for CD recording


Slippery Rock University Jazz Ensemble 2016

Feb. 3, 2016

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. ¬- Slippery Rock University's Jazz Ensemble, comprised of 19 students, has a date with the big-D, legendary soundman Jay Dutz. In April, the group will head to the six-time Grammy winner's Audible Images Recording studio in Pittsburgh to cut a new CD.

The album will feature all new works that have been written for the ensemble by Australian saxophonist Troy Roberts and other professionals, said Jason Kush, SRU assistant professor of music and ensemble director. Roberts will be featured in five solos.

Rehearsals have begun for the recording sessions that Kush said will last two weeks. The CD's release is scheduled for the beginning of the fall semester. It is not yet titled.

The Jazz Ensemble is comprised of undergraduate musicians chosen by audition. Students perform a broad range of traditional to contemporary jazz ensemble music.

The group has performed in the U.S., Canada, Europe and Asia.

Roberts has won four Downbeat Jazz Soloist Awards, was the only finalist in the Thelonious Monk International Jazz Saxophone Competition and has received a Grammy Nomination Medal.

Kush, a saxophonist, who graduated from SRU with a degree in music education, earned his master's degree in jazz pedagogy and doctorate in musical arts are from Miami University.

In 2013, Kush established the Three Rivers New Music Consortium, which works to unite musicians in the pursuit of finding new music to perform.

Kush has performed with the Pittsburgh Jazz Orchestra, the Woody Herman Orchestra and many other groups.

Members of the SRU Jazz Ensemble are:

Clint Bleil, senior, Glenshaw;
Erik Krohnemann, freshman, Huntingdon;
Zach Bickle, junior, Lockport, New York;
Jeanne Marie Stalteri, sophomore, Indiana;
Kyle Strain, sophomore, Mercer;
David Vevers, freshman, Pittsburgh;
Kenny Farinelli, senior, Cranberry Township;
Scott Boyer, senior, Pittsburgh;
Aaron Podorson, senior, Slippery Rock;
Andrew Loose, senior, Mechanicsburg;
Craig Gill, junior, Moon Township;
Kevin Farinelli, junior, Cranberry Township;
Rob Kaup, junior, Pittsburgh;
Wes Woodward, sophomore, Erie;
Stevie Pachesky, junior, North Huntingdon;
Walker Martz, junior, Butler;
Simon Neubert, senior, Cabot;
Justin Vorp, sophomore, Pittsburgh, and;
Adam Kantz, freshman, Beaver Falls.

MEDIA CONTACT: Gordon Ovenshine | 724.738.4854 |