Phi Kappa Phi to induct 39 new members


Phi Kappa Phi honors society logo

March 17, 2016

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. -- Phi Kappa Phi, the Honor Society at Slippery Rock University, will induct 39 new members into the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society at 4 p.m., March 19 in the Smith Student Center Theatre.

The list of initiates includes 27 students and 12 faculty or staff members, including SRU President Cheryl Norton and Philip Way, University provost.

Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by the chapter. Requirements include:

• Undergraduate students must have completed at least 24 semester hours or their institutions equivalent.
• Juniors must have completed at least 72 credit hours, with at least 24 semester hours at their current institution, and rank in the top 7.5 percent of their class.
• Seniors must have completed at least 24 semester hours at their current institution and rank in the top 10 percent of their class.
• Graduate students must have completed at least 18 graduate hours and rank in the top 10 percent of their class.
• Faculty, professional staff and alumni who achieve scholarly distinction may also be eligible.

SRU's 2016 initiates include:

• Shaza Al Dabbas, a junior from Wexford;
• Amanda Altieri, a junior from Washington;
• John Beckage, a senior from Slippery Rock;
• Amy Brunner, a senior from Butler;
• Erica Burke, a senior from Wellsboro;
• Nicole Campbell, a senior from Erie;
• Erin Dempsey, a junior from Mansfield;
• Stephanie Fortier, a junior from Newmarket, Ontario (Canada);
• Taylor Good, a senior from Butler;
• Ashley Hevesy, a senior from Butler;
• Victoria Homschek, a junior from Aliquippa;
• Samuel Hoszwa, a junior from Butler;
• Kaisha Jantsch, a senior from Cranberry Township;
• Katelynn Kletzli, a junior from Butler;
• Jenna Massaro, a junior from Ellwood City;
• Shelby Morton, a junior from Hermitage;
• Rachael Preitz, a senior from Perkasie;
• Emily Rathmann, a junior from Lake Ronkonkoma, New York;
• Brianna Regney, a junior from Monaca;
• Shannon Reynolds, a junior from Baden;
• Erik Robinson, a senior from Wexford;
• Meghan Torok, a senior from Meadville;
• Monica Traggiai, a senior from Sarver;
• Emily Horn, a senior from Butler;
• Joey Wallace, a senior from Butler;
• Madison Wilkins, a junior from Aliquippa;
• Rebecca Zane, a senior from Cranberry Township;
• Elizabeth A. Boerger, assistant professor of psychology;
• Corinne J. Gibson, director of multicultural development;
• Heather Hertel, associate professor of art;
• Stacy Jacob, assistant professor of counseling and development;
• Jeremy Lynch, assistant professor of special education;
• Amy McCamey, clerk typist, College of Liberal Arts;
• Cheryl Norton, president;
• Rebecca Ridener, assistant professor of criminology and criminal justice;
• Lawrence Shao, dean, College of Business;
• Kimberly Smith, associate professor of exercise and rehabilitative sciences;
• Philip Way, provost; and
• Junko Yamamoto, associate professor for secondary education

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine and headquartered in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, Phi Kappa Phi has chapters at more than 300 college and university campuses in North America and the Philippines. Its mission is "to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others."

MEDIA CONTACT: Robb King | 724.738.2199 |