SRU to present 1549 diplomas


SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - Slippery Rock University will distribute 1,549 diplomas to doctorate, master's degree and undergraduates in two ceremonies May 9, when it hosts its annual spring commencement exercises in Morrow Field House.

Tickets are required for admission. However, guests may watch the ceremony live from the air-conditioned Russell Wright Alumni House, the Smith Student Center Theatre or the Advanced Technology and Science Hall, or online by visiting:, then clicking the "Commencement Webcast" tab.

The ceremony will include presentation of 49 doctor of physical therapy degrees; 245 master's degrees, including 25 masters of business administration degrees in the program's second cohort; and 1,301 under graduate degrees.

Six SRU Army Reserve Office Training Corps cadets will be sworn in as second lieutenants.



The 10 a.m. ceremony, with doors opening at 9 a.m., will be for graduate studies candidates and graduating seniors from the College of Health, Environment and Science and the College of Liberal Arts.

William Bergmann, SRU assistant professor of history and 2014-15 recipient of the President's Award for Scholarly and Creative Achievement for his book "The American National State and the Early West," a historical research work, will be the speaker.

The 2 p.m. ceremony, with doors opening at 1 p.m., is for graduating seniors from the College of Business and the College of Education.



David Valentine, interim dean of the College of Business, professor of information systems and recipient of the 2014-15 President's Award for Excellence in Teaching, will be the speaker.

Both Bergmann and Valentine received their respective honors at SRU's annual Academic and Student Leadership Honors Convocation.

Cheryl Norton, SRU president will offer remarks at both ceremonies and confer degrees on all graduates. Wilma Cavil, assistant professor of safety management and with 56 years, the longest serving faculty member at SRU and within Pennsylvania's entire State System of Higher Education, will serve as grand marshal.

Jeffrey Smith, SRU trustee, will deliver greetings from the SRU Council of Trustees at the morning ceremony, and Thomas Breth, council chair, will handle the afternoon session. Don Huddart, a 1987 SRU graduate and treasurer of the SRU Alumni Association, will welcome new graduates to the alumni ranks during the morning session, and Kim Jones, a 1996 SRU graduate and association president, will speak at the afternoon session.

Lt. Col. John Donlin, SRU professor of military science, will administer the Oath of Office to the cadets. An ROTC color guard will present the flags to open the ceremonies.

The SRU Student Brass Quintet will perform during the ceremony's procession and recession, and the SRU Student Quartet will sing "The Star-Spangled Banner" and the "SRU Alma Mater."

MEDIA CONTACT: Karl E. Schwab | 724.738.2199 |