SRU to honor four Women of Distinction


Sept. 30, 2015

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - Blayre Holmes, program manager for the Women and Girls Foundation in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, will be the keynote speaker at Slippery Rock University's annual Mentoring Dinner Oct. 6. Four Women of Distinction Awards will be presented as part of the evening's activities.

The 5 p.m. event, which acknowledges mentoring relationships between faculty, staff and students, is in the Russell Wright Alumni House and Conference Center.

The Women and Girls Foundation is a non-profit organization that seeks to advance the rights of women and girls in Pennsylvania to have equal access and opportunity in both their public and private lives. Holmes is a driving force behind the organization's programming and initiatives to address gender inequity. She manages all aspects of "GirlGov," a year-round leadership program for high school girls. She also serves as a mentor at The Pearl Club, an organization that strives to help young inner city women hone skills they need to succeed in post-secondary education as well as to overcome poverty. Holmes earned her bachelors of arts in communication studies from California University of Pennsylvania.

This year's awardees are:

renee bateman

Staff: Renee Bateman

Renee Bateman, health promotion coordinator at the Student Health Center, takes a fervent interest in the needs of students and has helped develop the HOPE peer education program, which provides education on topics such as sexual assault and sexual health. An active member of the Title IX Task Force, Bateman also works to ensure that students are informed about relevant issues and information regarding their rights and safety. Bateman's successful outreach approach centers on connecting with students, peer educators and the diverse campus community. Bateman helps and mentors peer educators, most of who are women, to organize and host public health presentations to peer groups and FYRST seminar classes.

emily eichner

Student: Emily Eichner

Emily Eichner, a senior education major from Pittsburg, works tirelessly to advocate for women and educate on women's issues. She has been an invaluable asset to the Women's Center and to the Slippery Rock campus community. With a naturally congenial disposition, Eichner builds essential connections with different groups on campus. She forged a connection between the Women's Center and the Kappa Sigma fraternity. She also assists with a variety of programming on campus, including a FYRST year seminar program that focuses on consent. Eichner's genuine desire to help others radiates through her actions to help and encourage those around her.

marybeth miller

Faculty: Marybeth Miller

Marybeth Miller, associate professor of physical and health education, is recognized on-and-off-campus for her efforts to improve the lives of women. Miller created a free service-learning program called Movement Concepts that serves children with and without disabilities. The students who work with children through this program are mostly female. Miller is a member of the National Association of Girls and Women in Sport, has served on the President's Commission on the Status of Women at Slippery Rock University, and has chaired the President's Disability Commission at Slippery Rock University.

amanda yale

Administration: Amanda Yale

Amanda Yale, associate provost for enrollment services, takes great pride in student's growth and development. Yale is instrumental in aiding her student workers and graduate assistants build impressive portfolios and sharpen their skills. As a member of the American Association of University and College Women as well as the American Association of Higher Education's Women's Caucus Constituency Groups, Yale's commitment to supporting the efforts of women is apparent. Presenting to young female high school students and their parents at Girls Rock@BISS, Yale encouraged the female students to pursue careers in business, communication, computer science, criminology, safety management and sports management.

The 2015 award winners will receive a framed certificate as well as a necklace and pendant designed this year by Jace Condravy, former director of women's studies at SRU.

Cindy LaCom, SRU professor of English and chair of the Gender Studies Program, Studies Office, will offer closing remarks.

The Gender Studies Program and the President's Commission on the Status of Women co-sponsor the awards.