SRU trustees vote to extend University’s presidential search


Oct. 6, 2017

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. – Slippery Rock University's council of trustees today voted to extend the University's presidential search and to not advance the names of two candidates to Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education board of governors for consideration as SRU's 17th president.

Following a nearly year-long search process, the COT's Governance Committee, on a recommendation from the University's Presidential Search Committee, recommended that the names of Bruce Murphy, president of Nicholls State University in Thibodaux, Louisiana and Amir Mohammadi, vice president for finance, administration and advancement services at SRU, be advanced by the trustees to the State System BOG for consideration to become University president.

Murphy, Mohammadi and Marsha Krotseng, president of Bluefield State College in Bluefield, West Virginia, were selected to interview for the position following a national search.

At the trustees business meeting, the motion to move the names forward failed on a 5-5 vote. The trustees will now await directions from PASSHE as to the next steps.

The position of president at SRU became open following the retirement of Cheryl Norton July 21. Philip Way, SRU's provost, is serving as interim president.

"Despite the vote, I have nothing but the utmost appreciation for the efforts that the Search Committee put into doing their jobs," said Jeff Smith, SRU trustee and chair of the Search Committee. "Everyone worked hard and, as the vote shows, sometimes it is thankless work, but we will move forward from here and in the best interests of the University."

MEDIA CONTACT: Robb King | 724.738.2199 |