SRU Symphony Orchestra offers Nov. 16 classical concert


Slippery Rock University orchestra concert

The Slippery Rock University Symphony Orchestra will perform a variety of selections, including Mozart’s “The Abduction from Seraglio,” Nov. 16 at 7:30 p.m. in Swope Music Hall.

Nov. 14, 2016

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - The Slippery Rock University Symphony Orchestra will perform selections from a trio of composers - including Mozart and Antonin Dvorak - Nov. 16 at 7:30 p.m. in Swope Music Hall.

Paige Riggs


Warren Davidson, assistant professor or music, directs the orchestra and will conduct the concert. Paige Riggs, SRU instructor of music, will solo on cello. The orchestra includes 30 SRU students, supplemented by community member musicians. The group's repertoire includes music from the Baroque era through Mozart, Beethoven, Bartok and the 21st century.

The Nov. 16 program will offer three works:

  •  "The Abduction from Seraglio," by Mozart (1756-1791);
  • "Symphony No. 8" by Czech composer Antonin Dvorak (1841-1904); and
  • "Walking With Astor" by Pittsburgh accordion musician Vladimir Mollov

Davidson said "The Abduction from Seraglio" was a commission from the emperor of Austria to write a German-language opera for performance in Vienna. The plot concerns the attempt of the hero Belmonte, assisted by his servant Pedrillo, to rescue his beloved Konstanze from the seraglio of Pasha Selim. The work premiered July 16, 1782 at the Vienna Burgtheatrer, with the composer conducting.

Warren Davidson


"The overture is full of high spirit - you can just imagine Mozart's own excitement," Davidson said. The music includes bass drum, cymbals and triangles, instruments that were associated with Turkish military bands.

"Symphony #8" is one of Dvorak's best loved works and "full of warmth and drama," said Davidson. Composed in 1889 on the occasion of his election to the Bohemian Academy of Science, Literature and Arts, Dvorak conducted the premiere in Prague on Feb. 2, 1890. In contrast to other symphonies of both the composer and the period, the music is cheerful and optimistic.

Mollov, who was born in Bulgaria in 1983, is an accordion virtuoso who performs in classical, jazz and tango genres. "Working With Astor" was inspired by Mollov's dream about walking in Buenos Aires with tango master Astor Piazzola, Davidson said.

The suggested donation is $3 for students, $5 for the general admission.

MEDIA CONTACT: Gordon Ovenshine | 724.738.4854 |