SRU lands 12 on 2015 All-PSAC football team


marcus martin

Nov. 20, 2015

LOCK HAVEN, Pa. - Slippery Rock University football defensive end Marcus Martin was named Defensive Player of the Year and 12 SRU players were honored Thursday when the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference announced the All-PSAC Western Division team for the 2015 season.

Martin, a sophomore, earned his second major award in as many seasons after taking home the PSAC West Freshman of the Year honor last fall.

Slippery Rock had a total of 12 players named to All-PSAC honors, including eight players in nine positions on the first team and an additional three players on the second team.

Senior punter and placekicker Andrew Huska was named to first team honors both as a placekicker and as a punter.

Huska joined junior running back Shamar Green, senior right tackle Cory Tucker and junior center Joe LoSchiavo on the offensive first team and joined Martin, junior defensive tackle Joe Phillips, junior linebacker Bob Vernick and senior linebacker Teven Williams on the first team defense.

The Rock offense landed two players on the second team, senior left guard Kyle Henderson and senior tight end Brett Crenshaw. Senior nose guard Avery Anderson represents SRU on the second team defense to round out The Rock's All-PSAC selections.

Slippery Rock, ranked No. 10 in the latest Division II national rankings, won the PSAC title for the second straight year and became the first team to repeat as champion since the championship game was reinstated in 2008. The Rock earned the No. 2 seed in the NCAA Division II playoffs and will host their first home playoff game since 1999 when Virginia Union visits Mihalik-Thompson Stadium Saturday at noon.

Tickets for the Noon contest are $12 for reserved; $10 for adult general admission; $5 for university students with a valid ID, and $3 for high school students and children. Stadium gates will open at 10:30 a.m. For ticket reservations or questions, call 724.738.2021.

MEDIA CONTACT: Jon Holtz | 724.738.4925 |