SRU's Debra Pincek receives system's Brown award


Debra Pincek, executive director of student services at Slippery Rock University, was presented the Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education's Chief Student Affairs Officers' Suzanne S. Brown Distinguished Service and Outstanding Professional Award.

Pincek, a 38-year SRU employee, was cited for her talents in decision-making resulting in action plans that contribute directly to the success of SRU students.

"Her devotion to students is evident in her professional legacy: an award-winning innovative dining service. Her effective approach is characterized by her ability to listen to students and incorporate their voices and ideas into the current service and future plans. Her approach is characterized by strategic long-term planning, judicious financial preparation and attention to the details of the immediate; a process she implements with grace and professionalism," according to one nominator.

"Her commitment to student success is also obvious in a role that may not always be explicit to students. Pincek is in charge of the budget process for several departments in SRU's Offices of Student Transformational Experiences and Student Success. Her leadership, steady presence and willingness to share her expertise has allowed for services to continue to students through the years," a nominator wrote. "Pincek is a leader and role model for students and staff."

She was credited with leading SRU's food service transformation, including creation of a Food Services Master Plan along with renovations undertaken in Boozel Dining Hall, Weisenfluh Dining Hall and the Smith Student Center food operations. "These renovation have changed the dynamics on the campus."

The award is named for Suzanne S. Brown who served with great distinction as the associate vice chancellor for academic and student affairs at the state system headquarters in Harrisburg. One of her primary duties was to serve as the Dixon Center's direct link to the CSAOs and the Divisions of Student Affairs on the various state system campuses. In recognition of her outstanding work, awards for distinguished service bearing her name were established by the CSAOs, and were announced at of her 1997 retirement.