SRU’s Lambda Sigma chapter designated an “Honor Chapter”


Slippery Rock, Pa. - The Lambda Sigma National Board has designated the Alpha Theta Chapter of the Lambda Sigma Society at Slippery Rock University as an "Honor Chapter."

Lambda Sigma is the national honor society for second-year college students dedicated to the ideals of scholarship, leadership, fellowship and the spirit of service. Each chapter is charged with developing a program of activities to meet these ideals on the campus. The chapters are also encouraged to highlight the National Project of serving underprivileged children and at-risk youth in their community. Chapters are evaluated on how well they meet these criterions annually. 

"As an honor chapter, Lambda Sigma at Slippery Rock University has set a high stand in this regard," said  Denise Rode, Lambda Sigma national president. 

The Alpha Theta chapter was established at SRU in 1974. Membership is open to students of all majors. Members are selected based on their scholarship, leadership potential and willingness to serve the University and community. Applicants must have a 3.30 GPA or higher. Mark Shotwell, associate professor of biology, serves as the chapter's adviser.