Aerial view of Old Main

Presidential Search

Ad campaign soliciting candidates for SRU presidency officially kicks off June 15

May 30, 2017

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - The Slippery Rock University Presidential Search Committee has announced the official advertising campaign to solicit candidates for the 17th presidency of SRU will begin June 15.

"We are launching a national campaign that utilizes online postings on the major media sites in higher education including: The Chronicle of Higher Education; Inside Higher Education; Women in Higher Education, the Hispanic Outlook, Diverse Jobs and Higher Ed Jobs," said SRU Trustee and chair of the search committee Jeff Smith.

The campaign will run from June 15 to August 15.

"We are inviting nominations, expressions of interest and applications for the position. To assure full consideration, applications should be received by August 15 and include a letter of interest, curriculum vitae and five professional references with email addresses and telephone numbers," Smith said.

It is anticipated that the new president will take office January 2018.

The new president will fill a vacancy created by the departure of Cheryl Norton, SRU's 16th president. Norton is set to retire July 21 following a nearly five-year tenure as the University's first woman president.

While the advertisement provides a "taste" of what SRU has to offer, Smith said a presidential prospectus that "provides data and a more comprehensive review of the University" has been developed to complement the ad.

A copy of the ad can be found below, under the "Position Advertisement" tab.

The full presidential prospectus is available at: or below, under the "Presidential Prospectus" tab.

Those interested are asked to direct nominations and inquiries to: JoAnn Gora, senior consultant, AGB Search, at: 765.748.9491 or Laird Desmond, consultant, AGB Search, 253.566.6830.