Skip to main content

 President's Award for Excellence in Teaching  



Nomination Procedure  

Students, peers, staff or alumni may nominate a faculty member with a detailed nomination form (included below) submitted electronically or by hardcopy to the current Chair of the Excellence in Teaching Award.

The Chair of the Excellence in Teaching Award will forward copies of the nominations to the appropriate academic department chairperson.

At the department level, the department chairperson will present all names of candidates at a department meeting to vote on a representative.  Past recipients are not eligible. Once a department representative has been selected, the candidate's name is submitted to the Dean.  The department chairperson notifies the nominee that her/his name has been forwarded to the dean.  Each department nominee then decides whether to submit an abbreviated teaching portfolio in the form of a cover letter limited to four pages about why they should be considered for the award. (See time table below) If the nominee chooses not to submit a cover letter and abbreviated portfolio he or she will not be considered a candidate for the college's nominee.

The Dean and Department Chairs at the next college chairperson meeting review the applications and sends forth one name as finalist to the Chair of the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching Committee. The college finalist will be notified by the Chairperson of the Excellence in Teaching Committee to prepare a detailed teaching portfolio to be submitted to the Chairperson of the Excellence in Teaching Committee.  Each College Dean will forward in writing the finalist's name to the Provost. All nominees who were not selected as finalists will be notified by the Dean.

The applications of the finalists will be reviewed by the Excellence in Teaching Committee.  The applications should include a notebook (not to exceed two inches) and the following;

Nomination form 

  • Letter of support from a current or former student addressing the award criteria 
  • Reflective summary by the nominee of how his/her teaching meets the award criteria 
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae 
  • Current selected syllabi/assignments, especially with regard to examples of student learning 
  • Current student evaluations.

Also, the process will include that:

  • Each finalist will meet with the committee for 30-minutes
  • The committee will rank finalists and forward the results to the Provost to be presented to the President 

Criteria for the Applicant

  • Maintains teaching as a primary responsibility (at least 9 hours per semester).
  • Demonstrates an exemplary commitment to teaching and student learning.
  • Maintains a classroom that promotes high student engagement.
  • Pursues scholarly growth that enhances teaching.


1. A recognition plaque presented by the President at the Annual Honors Convocation.
2. Each of the three finalists will have $250.00 placed in a university account for professional development.
3. The award recipients will have  $1000.00 placed in a university account for professional development.
4. The award recipient, finalists, and all nominees will be highlighted in the Teaching Excellence publication that is published during Honors Month (April).
5. The awardee will give a brief address at the spring commencement ceremony.
6. Ideally, the winner will apply for the CASE/Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching U.S. Professors of the Year Award

Timetable for Award

September 10, 2014

Formalize committee with the Provost

October 19, 2014

Nominations due to the Chair of the Excellence in Teaching Award

October 22, 2014

Nominations forwarded to department chairs to distribute for review among faculty members

October 28, 2014

Faculty members vote for one nominee during the department meeting

October 29, 2014

Department chairs submit nominee's name to their Dean and inform the nominee that they need to prepare an abbreviated teaching portfolio

November 7, 2014

Nominees submit portfolio electronically to the Dean's office so that it will be immediately disseminated among all the college's chairs.  

November 18, 2014

Department chairs vote for one nominee for their college during the college meeting.  Deans submit the names of their college finalist to the Chair of the Excellence in Teaching Award Committee and to the Provost.

November 25, 2014

The Chair of the Excellence in Teaching Award Committee will inform the four finalists.

January 20, 2015

The four finalists will submit their portfolios to the Chair of the Excellence in Teaching Award Committee.

January 23, 2015

Four finalists forwarded to the Committee and the Provost

February 25, 2015

Committee rankings completed and forwarded to the Provost to be submitted to the President

April 18, 2015

Awardee honored at Academic Honors Convocation

May 9, 2015

Awardee to speak at Commencement

Selection Committee

  • One faculty member from each of the five academic divisions recommended by APSCUF and approved by the President
  • Two individuals selected by Academic Forum (one faculty, one student)
  • SGA student representative(s)
  • One administrator appointed by the President
  • Award winner from the previous year

Committee selects the chairperson

Excellence in Teaching Committee members for 2014-2015

Dr. Roger Solano
College of Business, Information and Social Sciences 

Ms. Lorraine Stubbs
Academic Services

Dr. Susan Zirpoli
College of Health, Environment and Science

Dr. Jason Hilton
University Forum

Dr. David Skeele
College of Humanities, Fine and Performing Arts

Dr. Christine Walsh, Co-Chair
College of Education

Dr. Bruce Orvis, Co-Chair
2014 Award Winner

Dr. Keith Dils, Dean
Administration Representative

Matt Scott
Student Representative 

Anthony Plumberg
SGA Student Representative

Form for Excellence in Teaching Nomination