Skip to main content

 Awards for Excellence  



President's Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Award for Excellence in Teaching was created for outstanding teachers based on many factors including their commitment to teaching beyond contractual obligations, a participatory and engaging pedagogy, developing and using innovative classroom practices and their commitment to scholarly growth.  Faculty members are nominated by students, peers, staff or alumniThe Award recipient is recognized at Academic Honors Convocation. 

President's Award for Outstanding Service

The Award for Outstanding Service was established in 1981 through the generosity of the late Donna and Robert McMullen, long-standing patrons of SRU, who consistently supported the university’s advancement effort.  Mr. McMullen was a member of the Class of 1951 and chaired the Slippery Rock University Foundation, Inc., Board of Directors. 

The award continues through the generosity of their son Douglas, and his wife Linda.

Scholarly and Creative Achievement Award

The Award for Scholarly and Creative Achievement recognizes annually a distinguished faculty member who has had works published, presented, developed, or performed in the last three years as a member of Slippery Rock University.  Each department nominates one faculty member for consideration.  The Award recipient is recognized at Academic Honors Convocation.