Skip to main content

 President's Award for Scholarly and Creative Achievement  



Nomination Procedure

1. Each department may select one faculty member per category to submit a one-page application describing his or her scholarly or creative work to the College Dean, and why the candidate believes that the work is worthy of the award by Friday, January 9. 

2. The scholarly or creative work must be included in the application along with three supporting letters or documents, one of which must be external to the university. Supporting letters or documents may include, but are not limited to, such things as published reviews, expert testimony, juried exhibits, and newspaper reviews of performances and exhibits.

3. The department will then use a process that addresses the criteria below and choose one applicant.

4. The candidate's application is submitted to the Dean of the College, or appropriate manager.

5. Each College will identify a process for forwarding one candidate from the College as its representative.

6. The Dean of the College, or appropriate manager submits one candidate from the college to the university selection committee.

The nominee must submit:

1. Only those works published, presented, developed, or performed in the last three years (November 2011-November 2014) as a member of the Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania community will be considered. Software development and other forms of scholarship in addition to publications are permitted.

2. Individuals are limited to one submission in each category--scholarly or creative achievement.

3. The application must be complete to be considered.


A recognition plaque is presented by the President at the Annual Honors Convocation in April, and the awardee is acknowledged in the annual excellence awards publication.

Five-hundred dollars are placed in a university account for the winner's use for professional travel.

Timetable for the Award

Dean or appropriate manager’s recommendation of one candidate is submitted to the selection committee by Friday, January 10. 

Selection Committee Chairperson will submit their recommendation to the Provost and President by Friday, January 31.

An announcement will be made at the Academic Honor’s Convocation in April.


Dr. Jerry Chmielewski, Chairperson (non-voting)
Dr. Richard Findler 
Dr. Timothy Smith
Dr. Robert Snyder
Dr. Theresa Wajda