Skip to main content

 Meeting Minutes - September 10, 2009 



Meeting Minutes
Slippery Rock University Strategic Planning Steering Committee
September 10, 2009
University Club, North Hall, Slippery Rock Campus


President Robert M. Smith called the meeting to order and introduced our Strategic Planning Trend Chairs: 

Dr. Katrina Quinn, chair TREND 1 sub-committee
Dr. Steve Strain and Dr. Athula Herat, co-chairs TREND 2 sub-committee
Dr. Eva Tsuquiashi-daddesio, chair TREND 3 sub-committee
Mr. Eliott Baker, chair TREND 4 sub-committee
Dr. Langdon Smith, chair TREND 5 sub-committee

The Chairs of our TRENDS presented an overview of the work of each sub-committee.  At the end of the spring semester, each sub-committee provided a report to the President.  The report from each TREND is posted at I:\President\SP TRENDS Committee Final Report.   

President Smith reviewed the reports and provided feedback to the TREND Sub-committees to continue refining goals/strategies and suggested that each TREND present to the campus community in an open forum early in the spring semester.  President Smith also encouraged TREND sub-committee chairs to work together to develop ideas and collaborate on common strategies that overlap and share information among the TREND groups. 

Two fundamental areas are critical – curricular and co-curricular components must be included in our strategic plan.  President Smith requested that the Student Life professionals present at the next SP Steering Committee (date TBD) and share how we assess what students are doing on our campus.    

Chairs welcomed questions and comments from the audience.    

Closing Remarks

President Smith thanked the chairs and co-chairs of our TREND sub-committees for their leadership in moving forward the Strategic Planning Process for Slippery Rock University.  Following brief discussion, President Smith adjourned the meeting. 

Next Meeting Date

To be determined

Respectfully Submitted – Tina L. Moser

Steering Committee  

President Cheryl J. Norton
Dr. Philip Way
Ms. Molly Mercer
Dr. Robert Watson
Ms. Barbara Ender
Ms. Rita Abent
Ms. Tina Moser
Mr. Eliott Baker
Dr. Nancy Barta-Smith
Ms. Carrie Birckbichler
Dr. John Bonando
Dr. Patrick Burkhart (APSCUF)
Dr. Patti Campbell
Mr. Herb Carlson
Dr. Jerry Chmielewski
Mr. Rogers Clements (SGA)
Dr. Cornelius Cosgrove
Ms. Lorraine Craven
Dr. Keith Dils

Dr. Thomas Flynn 
Dr. Susan Hannam
Ms. Mary Hennessey
Dr. Athula Herat
Ms. Samantha Kelly
Ms. Mary Ann King
Mr. Paul Lueken
Dr. Jeffrey Lynn
Ms. Holly McCoy
Ms. Lynne Motyl
Dr. Randall Nichols
Dr. Paula Olivero
Ms. Deb Pincek
Dr. Katrina Quinn

Mr. Regis Schiebel
Ms. Kelly Sladden (ARHS)
Dr. Langdon Smith
Dr. Steven Strain
Ms. Melissa Teodoro
Mr. Philip Tramdack
Dr. Eva Tsuquiashi-Daddesio
Mr. Tom Watson (AFSCME)
Dr. Amanda Yale