Slippery Rock University Council of Trustees Special Meeting Minutes April 22, 2022 9:00 AM ZOOM

I. Call to Order

Chair Matt Lautman called the meeting to order.

Roll Call: Recording of Attendance:

Alfonso Angelucci P Samantha Hawk Α Domenic Ionta Matt Lautman P Dan Lavallee William McCarrier P Elise Michaux Ρ Jeffrey Smith **Robert Taylor** Α Suzanne Vessella Α Joshua Young

Quorum: 8 members present

II. Agenda:

Purpose of the meeting is for Council to select five members from the SRU community to serve on the Presidential Search Committee (PSC) as prescribed by Pennsylvania's State System Board of Governors Policy 1983-13-A: Process for Recommending Presidential Appointment.

III. Public Comment:

None

- IV. Search Process: Presidential Search Committee Chair Jeffrey Smith presented an overview of the search committee process:
 - RPA Inc., a Williamsport-based firm specializing in higher education executive searches, was selected following interviews with three search firms conducted by the executive committee of the search: Trustee Smith, Trustee Lautman, and Trustee Michaux.
 - The executive committee has been working with various constituency groups across campus. Chair Smith shared in his opinion, "this committee represents the level of diversity that SRU is aiming to achieve."

 The Slippery Rock University Presidential Search Committee offers listening sessions April 29 in order to solicit input from members of the University community about the selection of SRU's next president. Additionally, virtual town hall sessions for campus constituencies and local communities are scheduled May 5.

Search Committee Members:

- o Trustee Jeffrey Smith, chair
- o Trustee Matt Lautman
- o Trustee Elise Michaux
- Martin Buckley, associate professor of biology, elected faculty member
- Michelle Amodei, associate professor of elementary education and early childhood, appointed by APSCUF
- Brian Crow, professor of sport management (alternate)
- o Ryan Stryffeler, instructor of English (alternate)
- o Mimi Campbell, associate director of housing, non-instructional unions
- Shelly Ogreuc, nurse, Student Health Services (alternate)
- Mohamad Khalaifa, student appointed by SGA
- o Amanda Brock, (student alternate)
- o Melissa Visco, appointed by the SRU Alumni Association
- o Michael Zody (alternate)
- o Bill Gindlesperger, trustee, Shippensburg University (BOG liaison)
- o Randy Goin, deputy chancellor (State System liaison, non-voting)
- Anthony Jones, SRU chief diversity officer, (State System appointee, non-voting)
- o Dale-Elizabeth Pehrsson, president, Clarion University (non-voting)
- Lisa Weinzetl, SRU staff support to Presidential Search Committee (non-voting)

A. Council Action

Trustee Smith moved, second by Trustee Angelucci, appointment of the following five members from the University community to serve on the Presidential Search Committee (PSC)

- Lawrence Shao, dean, College of Business, (university executive)
- Karla Romeo, assistant director, Admissions and Multicultural Recruitment, (non-instructional)
- Ivory Dunlap, director, Office of Inclusive Excellence, (at-large)
- Samantha Swift, executive director, University Advancement (at-large)
- Chris Cole, director, Conference Services, (at-large)

ROLL CALL VOTE:

Alfonso Angelucci: Y Jeffrey Smith Y
Domenic Ionta Y Joshua Young Y
Matt Lautman Y
Dan Lavallee Y
William McCarrier Y
Elise Michaux Y

Motion passes unanimously. Trustee Smith thanked Council members for their support of the process. The complete list of search committee members will be forwarded to Chancellor Greenstein for review and approval. A virtual meeting will be scheduled soon providing full Council the opportunity to meet with the search consultant.

Information and updates about the presidential search process can be viewed at this link, https://www.sru.edu/news/presidential-search

V. Adjournment

Chair Lautman called for adjournment, Trustee McCarrier moved, all were in favor of adjournment. Meeting adjourned at 9:15 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Tina L. Moser, administrative liaison to the Slippery Rock University Council of Trustees

Video recording of this meeting is available at this link, https://www.sru.edu/about/administration/council-of-trustees/video-recordings