MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF TRUSTEES SLIPPERY ROCK UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA FEBRUARY 24, 2012 WATSON CONFERENCE ROOM ALUMNI HOUSE SLIPPERY ROCK, PA 16057

3:00 P.M.

I. RECORDING OF ATTENDANCE

The meeting was called to order by Joshua Young, Chair, with the following Trustees present:

Mr. Eric Holmes, Vice Chair Ms. Grace Hawkins

Mr. Brandon Maharaj

Dr. John Hicks

Ms. Suzanne Vessella

Mr. Joshua Young

Dr. Dennis Murray

The following trustees were absent from the meeting:

Mr. Robert S. Taylor, Dr. Robert Marcus

Chairperson Young announced that at 2 p.m. in executive session Council heard review of the Search Committee's report and recommendation.

II. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Dr. Murray, second by Dr. Hicks that the agenda be approved. Motion carried.

III. SELECTION OF CONTINUING CANDIDATES FOR POSITION OF UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT

Chairperson Young explained the purpose of today's special meeting of the Council of Trustees. Mr. Eric Holmes, chair of the Presidential Search Committee shared the report and its recommendation of three continuing candidates for the President's position.

IV. Chairperson Young read the following resolution:

RESOLVED, that the Council of Trustees, Slippery Rock University, recommends to the Chancellor and the Board of Governors of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education the following three individuals as continuing candidates for the position of President of Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania:

Dr. David Dauwalder Dr. Jack Maynard Dr. Cheryl Norton

A motion was made by Dr. Hicks, seconded by Ms. Hawkins that the resolution be approved. Motion carried.

V. PUBLIC COMMENTS

Dr. Bradley Wilson, Associate Professor, Director of Honors Program, Chairperson of Philosophy and member of the Presidential Search Committee, relayed to the Trustees his appreciation for the exciting opportunity to serve on the search committee. "It was an honor to serve in this capacity, and is a highlight of my career here at Slippery Rock University to have represented my colleagues on the committee. We have recommended three highly qualified candidates and I look forward to working with the person selected to move Slippery Rock University forward."

Mr. Jordan Bailley, President of the Student Government Association, commended the work of the Council of Trustees and the presidential search committee and looks forward to working with our next President.

A roll call vote was taken.

ROLL CALL VOTE

Mr. Eric Holmes	aye
Ms. Grace Hawkins	aye
Mr. Brandon Maharaj	aye
Dr. John Hicks	aye
Ms. Suzanne Vessella	aye
Dr. Dennis Murray	aye
Mr. Joshua Young	aye

Motion passes - unanimous vote.

Chairperson Joshua Young provided accolades to the presidential search committee and congratulated Mr. Holmes for his outstanding efforts as chair of the committee. In addition, Chairman Holmes commended the work of the senior leadership team at Slippery Rock University and relayed special accolades to Acting President Charles Curry during this time of transition.

Chairperson Young explained that the three approved names would be forwarded to Chancellor Cavanaugh and the Board of Governors along with a certified copy of the minutes of the meeting.

VI. ADJOURNMENT AND NEXT MEETING

A motion was made by Dr. Murray, seconded by Mr. Maharaj that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.

Chairperson Young announced the next meeting of the Council of Trustees is tentatively scheduled Monday, April 2, 2012, on the Slippery Rock University campus.

Respectfully submitted,

Mr. Joshua B. Young, Chair

Slippery Rock University Council of Trustees