President's Award for Outstanding AcademicAdvising

History

The President's Award for Outstanding Academic Advising was created in2014 to honor extraordinary faculty in their role as academic advisors. Many factors are considered, including faculty commitment to academicadvising as an important aspect in student success and its effect on individual student's lives. Faculty members are nominated by students, with a set of finalists invited to submit additional supporting information. Since the 2020-2021 academic year, the award has honored two advisors: Emerging (less than 3 years of advising experience) and Established (morethan 3 years of advising experience).

Criteria

Undergraduate students, graduate students, and department chairs may nominate a faculty member for this award. The nominator will rate the advisor on a selection of specific criteria and provide a brief description of how the advisor has contributed to advising at SRU. Although not required, multiple nominations for a given faculty member can be helpful.

The nominations will be reviewed by the award committee, and finalists will be invited to submit a statement of their advising philosophy. The twowinners will be selected based on that statement and the strength of the nominations, and must be a full-time, regular faculty member. The final determination will be made by the President based on committee recommendations.

Acknowledgment

A recognition plaque is presented by the President at a Celebration of Achievement event planned for April. The winners will receive \$1000 in professional travel funds. Two runners-up will receive \$250 in professionaltravel funds.

Previous Winners

2021-2022	Established: Dr. Jennifer Willford, Psychology
	Emerging: Dr. Tami Micsky, Public Health and Social Work
2020-2021	Established: Dr. J. Lyn Miller, Mathematics and Statistics
2020-2021	Emerging: Dr. Hogue, Secondary Education and Foundations of Education
2019-2020	Dr. Jennifer Keller, Dance
2018-2019	Dr. Joanne Leight, Physical and Health Education
2017-2018	Mr. Bruce Boliver, Hospitality, Event Management and Tourism
2016-2017	Dr. David Jordan, School of Business
2015-2016	Dr. Jeananne Nicholls, School of Business
2014-2015	Ms. Lorraine Craven, Academic Services
2013-2014	Dr. Wendy Stuhldreher, Public Health and Social Work