President's Award for Excellence in Teaching

2023-2024

Selection Procedures

Phase 1: Nominations from Students, Peers, Staff or Alumni

Students, peers, staff, or alumni may nominate a faculty member with a detailed nomination form (included below) submitted electronically or by hardcopy to the current Co-Chairs of the Excellence in Teaching Award.

Phase 2: Selection of Department Nominees

The Co-Chairs of the Excellence in Teaching Award will forward copies of the nominations to the appropriate academic department chairperson. Each department chairperson will notify his or her department's nominees.

At the department level, the department chairperson will present all names of candidates at a department meeting to vote on a representative. Past recipients are not eligible. Once a department representative has been selected, the candidate's name is submitted to the dean. The department chairperson notifies the nominee that her/his name has been forwarded to the dean. Each department nominee then decides whether to submit an abbreviated teaching portfolio in the form of a narrative limited to **four** pages about why they should be considered for the award. (See time table below) If the nominee chooses not to submit a four-page narrative, he or she will not be considered a candidate for the college's nominee.

Phase 3: Selection of College Nominees

The Dean and Department Chairs at the next college chairperson meeting review the applications and send forth one name as finalist to the Co-Chairs of the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching Committee. The college finalist will be notified by the Co-Chairpersons of the Excellence in Teaching Committee to prepare a detailed teaching portfolio they will submit to the Excellence in Teaching D2L shell. Each College Dean will forward in writing the finalist's name to the Provost. All nominees who were not selected as finalists will be notified by the dean.

Phase 4: Selection of Award Recipient

The applications of the finalists will be reviewed by the Excellence in Teaching Committee. The applications should be submitted to the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching D2L shell:

- Nomination form
- Letter of support from a current or former student addressing the award criteria
- Reflective summary by the nominee of how his/her teaching meets the award criteria
- Nominee's curriculum vitae
- Current selected syllabi/assignments, especially with regard to examples of student learning
- Current student evaluations.

Also, the process will include that:

- Each finalist will meet with the committee for 30-minutes
- Each finalist will present a teaching demonstration lesson that will showcase his or her teaching style and skills. Members of the committee will serve as the students for the teaching demonstration.
- The committee will rank finalists and forward the results to the Provost to be presented to the President

Criteria for the Applicant

- Maintains teaching as a primary responsibility (at least 9 hours per semester).
- Demonstrates an exemplary commitment to teaching and student learning.
- Maintains a classroom that promotes high student engagement.
- Pursues scholarly growth that enhances teaching.

President's Award for Excellence in Teaching

2023-2024

***Previous winners are not eligible:** Dr. Danette DiMarco, Dr. Cindy LaCom, Dr. Betsy McKinley, Dr. John Misner, Dr. Kathleen Strickland, Dr. Eva Tsuquiashi-Daddesio, Dr. Wendy Stuhldreher, Dr. Stephen Hawk, Ms. Stacey Steele, Dr. Athula Herat, Dr. Joseph Merhaut, Dr. Richard Marchand, Dr. Kimberly Smith, Dr. Christine Walsh, Mr. Thom Cobb, Dr. Bruce Orvis, Dr. David Valentine, Dr. Jennifer Willford, Dr. Douglas Strahler, Dr. Jonathan Helmick, Dr. Rebecca Thomas, Dr. Laura Kelley, Dr. Sarah Kuehn, Dr. Shawn Davis, Dr. Beth LaGamba

Acknowledgment

- 1. A recognition plaque presented by the President.
- 2. Each of the four finalists will have \$250.00 placed in a university account for professional development.
- 3. The award recipients will have \$1000.00 placed in a university account for professional development.

Timetable for Award

September 15, 2023	Formalize committee with the Provost
October 16, 2023	Nominations due to the Co-Chairs of the Excellence in Teaching Award
October 23, 2023	Nominations forwarded to department chairs to distribute for review among faculty members
October 31, 2023	Faculty members vote for one nominee during the department meeting
October 31, 2023	Department chairs submit nominee's name to their Dean and inform the nominee they need to prepare an abbreviated teaching portfolio
November 20, 2023	Nominees submit abbreviated portfolio electronically to their Dean's office so that it will be immediately disseminated among all the college's chairs.
November 28, 2023	Department chairs submit their vote to their perspective Dean for one nominee from their college. Deans submit the names of their college finalist to the Co-Chairs of the Excellence in Teaching Award Committee and to the Provost.
November 29, 2023	The Co-Chairs of the Excellence in Teaching Award Committee will inform the five finalists.
January 18, 2024	The five finalists will submit their portfolios electronically via D2L to the Co-Chairs of the Excellence in Teaching Award Committee.
January 19, 2024	Five finalists' portfolios forwarded to the Committee and the Provost
February 1-7, 2024	Five finalists present to the Committee
February 8, 2024	Committee rankings completed and forwarded to the Provost to be submitted to the President
TBD -	Awardee recognized in the spring 2023 semester

President's Award for Excellence in Teaching

2023-2024

Selection Committee

- One faculty member from each of the five academic divisions recommended by APSCUF and approved by the President
- Two individuals selected by Academic Forum (one faculty, one student)
- SGA student representative(s)
- One administrator appointed by the President
- Award winner from the previous year

Committee selects the chairperson

Excellence in Teaching Committee members for 2023-2024

Dr. Baek Joo College of Business, Information and Social Sciences

Dr. Christine Walsh College of Education, 2012 Award Winner

Dr. Susan Zirpoli College of Engineering and Science

Dr. Danette Dimarco College of Liberal Arts

Dr. Heather Fritz College of Health Professions

Amber Hamilton Academic Services

Dr. Shahriar Gias University Forum

Dr. Shawn Davis, Co-Chair 2022 Award Winner

Dr. Beth LaGamba, Co-Chair 2023 Award Winner

Dr. Keith Dils, Dean Administration Representative

Connor Pavlicko SGA Student Representative

Form for Excellence in Teaching Nomination EXCELLENCE NOMINATION FORM LINK