SRU students capture ATRA’s Peg Connolly Scholars Awards


SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - Three Slippery Rock University students have been selected to receive the prestigious Peg Connolly Scholarship award from the American Therapeutic Recreation Association. Senior recreation therapy majors Megan Frisco from Oxford, Rachel Kerr, from Harmony and Lindsay Ramsland from Pennington, New Jersey, received their awards at the association's annual convention in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

The award honors Peg Connolly the first ATRA president and former Executive Director of the National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification. Recipients receive a paid conference registration, accommodations and a meal stipend. Connolly Scholars assist in various aspects of implementing the conference such as room hosting, registration and monitoring social events. 

The trio joins former SRU Connolly awardees Abby Brown, 2007; Janelle Krantz, 2012; and Becky Searight, 2013.