President's Award for Outstanding Service

About the Award

The President's Award for Outstanding Service is one of the University's most prestigious awards and recognizes individuals that have made significant contributions to the University through service.

The award was established in 1981 through the generosity of the late Donna and Robert McMullen, long-standing patrons of Slippery Rock University who consistently supported the University's advancement effort. Mr. McMullen was a member of the Class of 1951 and chaired the Slippery Rock University Foundation, Inc., Board of Directors. Funding for the award continues through the generosity of their son, Douglas and his wife, Linda.

Recipients of the Award will be presented with a \$1000 award at the annual Employee Recognition ceremony.

Nomination Procedure

Any SRU employee can nominate candidates for the Award. Self-nominations are allowed. To nominate an individual, please complete the appropriate <u>nomination form</u> and submit it along with a personal letter of nomination, describing and documenting why the candidate should be considered, to the appropriate member of the Presidents Executive Leadership Team by February 19, 2024.

Presidents Executive Leadership Team members will vet nominations from their respective areas, including reviewing the nomination with a candidate's supervisor. Once candidates have been vetted, the members will forward the nominations of all qualified candidates to the President for review and selection.

Selection Criteria

The nominee must be a full-time employee at SRU with a minimum of five years of service, and in good standing.

Extraordinary commitment to University service and citizenship beyond the scope of an individual's normal functions at SRU as demonstrated through active participation in functions on/or off-campus that benefit the University. (Examples of service might include but are not limited to: volunteer service as a student organization adviser, commencement volunteer, WOW volunteer, leadership volunteer, Presidential Commission participant, host family volunteer, project leader for a major University initiative, representing SRU on community and/or non-profit association boards, etc.)

Past award recipients are not eligible.

Approved by University Cabinet:

May 14, 2018