SRU Council of Trustees chair names 2016-17 committee members


August 17, 2016

matt lautman


SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - Matthew Lautman, chair of the Slippery Rock University council of trustees, has announced the following committee appointments for the 2016-17 academic year:

  • Academic and Student Affairs Committee - Senator Mary Jo White, chair; Bill McCarrier, Dennis Murray and Monica Traggiai, members;
  • Advancement Committee - Bob Taylor, chair; Bill McCarrier, Dennis Murray, Matt Shaner and Suzanne Vessella, members;
  • Finance Committee - Tom Breth, chair; Jeff Smith, Monica Traggiai and Suzanne Vessella, members; and
  • Governance Committee - Jeff Smith, chair; Tom Breth, Bill McCarrier, Bob Taylor and Senator Mary Jo White, members.

Lautman, an SRU graduate with a bachelor's degree in political science, was elected chair of the council in June 2016. While at SRU, he was a member of the Kappa Delta Rho fraternity, the SRU Program Board and a student member of the SRU Judicial Board. Lautman received a juris doctor from the University of Pittsburgh School of Law.

The 12-member council of trustees governs SRU. Its members are nominated and appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, serving a term of six years and until their successors are appointed and qualified. At least two members of the group are alumni of the institution and one member is a full-time undergraduate student. The council meets on a quarterly basis at the University or from time to time as may be called upon by the president, chair or upon request of three of its members.'

All committee and the COT's general meeting are open to the public. Information about meetings is available at:

MEDIA CONTACT: Robb King | 724.738.2199 |