The Major in Political Science provides students with a well rounded and solid grounding in the discipline with opportunities to develop more specialized expertise in their areas of interest.  Students are required to take 39 credits in Political Science, including three required courses and at least two courses from four of the six more specialized areas in the major. For a detailed look at the major requirements, please see the link for the Political Science Curriculum Guide.

Political Science is the most common major for students interested in law school. SRU offers a robust Prelaw Program that is open to students of all majors.

In addition to the Political Science Major, there are four minors in our department.