SRU biology majors win awards, scholarships at NSM banquet


Scholarship award winners

More than $33,000 in scholarships were awarded to numerous Slippery Rock University biology majors at the Biology Department’s annual Natural Sciences and Mathematics Banquet, April 15.

April 17, 2019

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. — The Slippery Rock University Biology Department presented more than $28,000 to its majors at their annual Natural Sciences and Mathematics Banquet, April 15. The College of Health, Environment and Science awarded another $5,200 pushing the total figure of biology awards and scholarships to more than $33,500. Other departments in the sciences and math also presented awards to their students at the banquet.

Capturing top awards were Joshua Jones, a senior from Slippery Rock, who was named Outstanding Biology Senior; Annette Choi, a senior from South Korea, who was named the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania University Biologists Outstanding Student; and Alexus Nubani, a junior from Leavittsburg Ohio who was awarded the Outstanding Pre-Professional Junior.

Jerry Chmielewski, dean of the College of Health, Environment and Science, provided the opening remarks and presented the CHES scholarships; Miranda Falso, assistant professor of biology, was the master of ceremonies and introduced the outstanding students; Paul Falso, associate professor of biology, presented three incoming freshmen scholarships; and William Sigmund, profess of biology, presented 30 upperclassmen scholarships.

Scholarships and award recipients were:

Department of Biology

• Outstanding Biology Senior: Joshua Jones, a senior from Butler.
• CPUB Outstanding Student: Annette Choi, a senior from South Korea.
• Outstanding Pre-professional Junior: Alexus Nubani, a junior from Leavittsburg Ohio.
• Beta Beta Beta Senior Service Award: Kathryn Skolnick, a senior from Fairport, New York.
• Thomas W. Gaither Scholarship: Jenna Kriley, a freshman from Butler.
• Wayne L. Miller, M.D. Scholarship: Madisyn Wolfe, a freshman Sigel.
• Thomas John Scholarship: Noah Marvin, a senior from Venetia.
• Sophomore Biology Honors Scholarship: Jacob Hockensmith, a sophomore from Poland, Ohio; Lydia Shively, a sophomore from Sandy Ridge; Tyler Singer, a junior from Springfield; and Seth Stafford, a sophomore from Herminie.
• LeAnn Penn Biology-Military Service Scholarship: Micah Garber, a sophomore from Bainbridge.
• Achievement in Biology Scholarships: Gabrielle Bachtel, a sophomore from Massillon, Ohio; Garrett Bachtel, a freshman from Massillon Ohio; Hayley Corbin, a freshman from Sheffield; Hannah Dean, a freshman from New Castle; and Elaina Natali, a freshman from Gibsonia.
• Biology Honors Scholarship: Paxton Fetterman, a sophomore from Apollo; Singer; and Stafford.
• William Ralston Scholarship: Emma Shychuck, a junior from Georgetown.
• Biology Faculty Scholarships: Austin Shirk, a junior from Elizabethtown and Christopher Johnson, a junior from Youngville.
• Leucojum Award in Botany: Alexa Demetrios, a sophomore from Canfield, Ohio.
• Sonam Ruit International Scholarship: Nawang Lama, a sophomore from Kathmandu, Nepal.
• Genevieve Tvrdik Scholarship: Hockensmith.
• A P Vincent Scholarship: Shively.
• James Kell Scholarship: Fetterman.
• Beta Beta Beta Alumni Scholarship: Rosemary Myers, a junior from Fairview.
• Christopher F. Cuff Scholarship: Myers.
• Wayne L. Miller, M.D. Upperclass Scholarship: Shirk.
• Frank A. Pugliese "Rock" Scholarship: Nichole Miller, a junior from Slippery Rock.
• William R. Sigmund PJAS Awards: Myers and Mackenzie Mountain, a junior from Edinboro.
• John P. Phillips Scholarship: Mountain.

Renewals of four-year scholarships:

• James Steel Scholarship: Shychuck.
• Thomas John Scholarship: Fetterman.
• Dr. Robert Felix Scholarship: Madison Dupe, a freshman from Butler.

Natural Sciences and Mathematics/College of Health, Environment and Science scholarships:

• Carolyn Steglich Endowed Scholarship: Demetrios.
• Edward and Sophie Vincent Scholarship: Miller.
• Rhoda Evans Taylor Endowed Scholarship: Keneisha Gustafson, a sophomore from Coalport.
• Coen Family Scholarship Scholarship: Fetterman.
• George Smith Memorial Research Grant: Gabrielle Bachtel.

MEDIA CONTACT: Robb King | 724.738.2199 |