SRU’s Butler SUCCEED appoints advisory council


Butlker Succeed logo

The Slippery Rock University Center for Community Engagement, Empowerment and Development has appointed members of its advisory council. The center, located at 150 N. Main Street in Butler, will provide civic engagement between SRU and members of the Butler city and county communities.

May 21, 2021

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. — The Slippery Rock University Center for Community Engagement, Empowerment and Development, known as Butler SUCCEED, has established an advisory council to provide leadership for the center. Butler SUCCEED is a center created in 2020 to engage members of the SRU and Butler city and county communities to form and continue mutually beneficial partnerships that enhance the quality of life in the region and advance learning, research and civic engagement.

The University is leasing a physical location for Butler SUCCEED at 150 N. Main Street in Butler that will act as a hub for civic engagement once it is fully renovated and functional later this year. A 20-member advisory council, consisting of SRU representatives and leaders from the Butler community, was recruited by the Butler SUCCEED leadership team to advise the center's leaders and help set priorities. The advisory council will meet quarterly through July 2022 as Butler SUCCEED becomes operational.

"The forming of this advisory council is a key element to Butler SUCCEED living its mission," said Jeffrey Rathlef, SRU director for community-engaged learning, who is a member of the center's leadership team and advisory council. "The advisory council is a representation of major community stakeholders who will help us navigate the collaborative work within the community. Having this community voice will shape our decisions and actions as we look to achieve reciprocal community engagement."

Members of the Butler SUCCEED advisory council include:

  • Dan Bauer, SRU dean of the College of Liberal Arts.
  • Jennifer Bindernagel, executive director, The Blind Association.
  • Sue Bowser, administrator, PA CareerLink Butler County.
  • Christopher Cole, SRU director of auxiliary operations and student services.
  • Alice Del Vecchio, SRU assistant professor and chair of nonprofit management, empowerment and diversity studies.
  • Amy Franz, Butler Region director, United Way.
  • Jeff Geibel, financial advisor, Edward Jones.
  • John Golden, SRU assistant professor of health care administration and information systems and managing director of the Sustainable Enterprise Accelerator at SRU.
  • Stephen Green, president/CEO, Glade Run Lutheran Services.
  • Amber Hamilton, SRU instructor of academic services.
  • Matt Kovac, dean of STEM Division, Butler County Community College.
  • Sheri Mack, interim dean of Business Division, Butler County Community College.
  • Leslie Osche, chair, Butler County Board of Commissioners.
  • Ursula Payne, SRU professor of dance.
  • Jeffrey Rathlef, director of the Office for Community-Engaged Learning
  • Elizabeth Short, executive director, YWCA Butler.
  • Jeff Smith, SRU council of trustees.
  • Josh Strelbicki, co-chair, Butler County Collaborative for Families.
  • Dennis Washington, SRU vice president for University Advancement.
  • Brad Wilson, SRU associate provost of academic and integrated learning.

Bauer, Alice Del Vecchio, Golden, Rathlef and Wilson are also members of the Butler SUCCEED leadership team.

Programming at Butler SUCCEED will focus on community and economic development; community outreach and civic engagement; organizational strength and capacity building; and training and professional development.

MEDIA CONTACT: Justin Zackal | 724.738.4854 |