Administration and Governance

Slippery Rock University is a member of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. A 20-member Board of Governors is responsible for planning and coordinating development and operation of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE). The Board establishes broad educational, fiscal and personnel policies, and oversees the efficient management of PASSHE. Among other tasks, the board appoints the chancellor and university presidents, approves new academic programs, sets tuition and coordinates and approves the annual PASSHE operating budget.

A 12-member Council of Trustees governs the University. Its members are nominated and appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate serving a term of six (6) years, and until their successors are appointed and qualified. At least two (2) members of the group are alumni of the institution and one (1) member is a full-time undergraduate student. The Council meets on a quarterly basis at the University or from time to time as may be called upon by the president, chairperson, or upon request of three (3) of its members.

The President is the chief executive officer of the University.

Meetings of the Board of Governors and the Council of Trustees are subject to the Pennsylvania Public Agency Open Meeting Law.