SRU students elect Nicole Dunlop SGA president


add alt

From left, Khalil Harper, vice president of academic & student affairs; Nicole Dunlap, president; Kaitlyn Hazelett, vice president of finance; Mia Graziani, vice president of internal affairs; and Kemoni Farmer, vice president of outreach, were elected to the 2019-20 Slippery Rock Student Government Association executive board April 11.

April 12, 2019

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. — Nicole Dunlop, a Slippery Rock University sophomore homeland security major from Latrobe, was elected president of the Slippery Rock Student Government Association April 11. Dunlop served as the SGA's vice president of internal affairs for 2018-19 academic year.

More than 730 students cast ballots in the election that was conducted on CORE.

"As vice president of internal affairs, I really loved handling the inner workings of SGA," she said "As president, I'll be able to branch out and touch the larger student community and their interests."

Dunlop, who ran unopposed, will replace one-year incumbent Dallas Kline, who will graduate in May with a degree in sport management. Dunlop said that she and her SGA counterparts will work toward making sure students know they have a voice, regardless of how large or small the idea or concern may be. The little things, she said, are what make SRU so great.

"When I was campaigning and gathering signatures for my petition, I really enjoyed talking one-on-one with my peers and getting to know them," said Dunlop. "Now, I have the opportunity to be able to represent all of the nearly 9,000 students at SRU and that is exciting."

Other officers elected to the executive board were:
• Khalil Harper, a senior computer science major from Pittsburgh, vice president of academic & student affairs.
• Kaitlyn Hazelett, a senior dual accounting and finance major from Sarver, vice president of finance.
• Mia Graziani, a freshman psychology/pre-physician assistant major from Canonsburg, vice president of internal affairs.
• Kemoni Farmer, a junior psychology major from Erie, vice president of outreach.
• Margaret Calvert, a senior dual political science and philosophy major from Butler, vice president of diversity and inclusion.

Elected to specific senate seats were:
• Madison Cox, a freshman physics pre-engineering major from Canonsburg, Building A.
• Joseph Sciuto, a freshman social work major from New Wilmington, Watson Hall.
• Kathy Bash, a freshman history major from Mount Pleasant, Building D.
• Brett Lejeune, a freshman dual homeland security and corporate security major from McMurray, Building F.
• Chloe Hoehn, a freshman health and physical education major from McKean, North Hall.
• Leif Lindgren, a freshman safety management major from Allison Park, Rhoads Hall.
• Nathan Endres, a junior dual accounting and marketing major from Trafford, ROCK Apartments.

Selected to serve as senators representing graduate students were:
• Matthew Lerman, a graduate student in the student affairs in higher education from Slippery Rock.
• Riley Keffer, a graduate student in student affairs in higher education from Grove City.

Selected to serve as senators representing commuter students were:
• Breeane Latsko, a freshman exercise science/pre-physical therapy major from Venetia.
• Samantha Kochis, a junior music education major from Cranberry.
• Cale Walker, a junior exercise science major from Dillsburg.
• Joshua Hilzendeger, a junior healthcare administration and management major from McMurray.
• Dillon Pusateri, a freshman political science major from Bethel Park.
• Nicholas Condon, a sophomore political science major from Butler.
• Patrick Noonan, a junior political science major from Pittsburgh.
• Samantha Burkhouse, a dual senior history and political science major from Bradford.
• Taylor Cochran, a senior early childhood and special education major from Natrona Heights.
• Logan Tupper, a senior finance major from Butler.
• Jordyn Holley, a sophomore psychology major from Beaver Falls.
• Piper Jones, a sophomore dual social work and gender and diversity studies major from Duncansville.

Voting for senator for Building B resulted in a tie and the senator's position for Building E went unfilled. The situations involving both positions will be resolved at the beginning of the fall semester as will three vacant commuter senator positions.

Four freshman senators will be elected in the fall.

All elected students have until April 15 to accept or reject the positions to which they were elected.

MEDIA CONTACT: Megan Bush | 724.738.2091 |