SRU students elect Dallas Kline SGA president


April 17, 2018





SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - Dallas Kline, a Slippery Rock University senior sport management major from Spring Grove, was elected president of the Slippery Rock Student Government Association, Inc. Kline, who ran unopposed for the post, will replace one-year incumbent Rachel Lawler, who is graduating in May.

"I'm so excited and ready to get rolling," said Kline. "It's an honor to represent and serve the students of this University. My love for SRU has grown each year that I've been on this campus. To be elected SGA president is really a culmination of my three years of involvement with the organization having started out as a senator. It's very humbling."

Kline said that during her time in office, she's hopes to work closely with University administration and help foster positive change for SRU students present and future.





"Being in this position means that I have the opportunity to help shape the SRU experience for students beyond my time here. I hope that during my time in office, I am able to affect positive change so that all students are able to come away with an experience that has been as great as mine has been."

Kline, who spent the 2017-18 academic year as the SGA's vice president of campus outreach, and her SGA counterparts will be considering a number of issues in the coming academic year including the possible restructuring of the SGA senate from a building-based position to a college-based position; studying issues concerning student safety and well-being; working closely with University administrators in conducting additional and more extensive emergency drills; and what SGA can do to aid in the growth of SRU's Counseling Center and the services it provides.

Other officers elected were:

-Elizabeth Hernandez, a junior political science major from Grove City, vice president of academic & student affairs.
-Logan Tupper, a junior health and physical education major from Butler, vice president of finance.
-Nicole Dunlop, a freshman homeland security major from Latrobe, vice president of internal affairs.
-Chadwick Burdick, a sophomore exercise science major from Brook Park, Ohio, vice president of outreach.
-Kennedy Moore, a junior resort, recreation and hospitality management major from Braddock, vice president of diversity & inclusion.

Elected to specific senate seats were:





-Malaka Goudy, a junior political science major from Farrell, Building B.
-Samantha Kochis, a freshman music education major from Cranberry Township, Building D.
-Emily Smolinsky, a freshman political science major from Hazleton, North Hall.
-Corinne Rockefeller, a freshman geography major from Hiram, Ohio, Rhoads Hall.
-Martha Dunkelberger, a freshman dance major from Spring Mills, ROCK Apartments

Selected to serve as senators representing commuter students were:

-Tyler Ben, a sophomore exercise science major from Sarver.
-Margaret Calvert, a junior political science major from Butler.
-Taylor Cochran, a sophomore early childhood/special education major from Natrona Heights.
-Josiah Cole, senior biology major from Emlenton.
-Jacob Cribbs, a junior political science major from Clymer.
-Christopher Garcia, a junior park and resource management major from Davie, Florida.
-Kaitlyn Hazelett, a sophomore accounting major from Sarver.
-Caitlyn Kilmer, a junior political science major from Brockport.
-David Miller, a freshman management major from Mercer.
-Julia Tremel, a sophomore exercise science major from Pittsburgh.
-Marshall Tuten, a junior modern languages and cultures major from Slippery Rock.
-Angela Vickers, a sophomore athletic training major from Conneaut Lake.
-Cale Walker, a sophomore exercise science major from Dillsburg.
-Sarah Corrine Zeni, a freshman exercise science major from Morgantown, West Virginia.

MEDIA CONTACT: Robb King | 724.738.2199 |