SRU hosting four spring commencement ceremonies, May 6-7


Morrow Field House during graduation

More than 1,600 graduates will receive their degrees from Slippery Rock University, May 6-7, at Morrow Field House.

May 2, 2022

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. — More than 1,600 eligible graduates are expected to receive their degrees as Slippery Rock University hosts its spring 2022 commencement ceremonies, May 6-7, at Morrow Field House. The graduate studies ceremony is 6 p.m., May 6, followed by three undergraduate ceremonies May 7, with the College of Business at 9 a.m., the College of Liberal Arts and the College of Education at 1 p.m., and the College of Health, Engineering and Science at 5 p.m.

Electronic tickets are required for entry, and guest tickets were apportioned four per graduate. All ceremonies will be livestreamed on for those friends and family members without a ticket, unable to attend in person, or who prefer to watch the ceremony online. Additionally, there will be three livestream viewing locations on campus for guests without tickets at the Russell Wright Alumni House, the Smith Student Center Theater and the Advance Technology and Science Hall, Room 142. All the locations are accessible.

The commencement speakers for each ceremony include:

  • Graduate Studies: Elise Michaux, '11, '13M, director of enrollment management at Erie County Community College and an SRU trustee.
  • College of Business: Tony Robinson, '93, Americas indirect/state and local for Ernst & Young, a professional services firm.
  • College of Liberal Arts and the College of Education: Larry Kelly, '75, attorney at Luxenberg, Garbett, Kelly & George, P.C.
  • College of Health, Engineering and Science: Mary Beth Jenkins, '93, chief administrative and operating office for UPMC Health Plan, UPMC Insurance Services Division.

Larry McCarthy, assistant professor of accounting, economics and finance, will serve as grand marshal and will open and close each ceremony.

SRU President William Behre will provide remarks and confer the degrees. There will also be greetings from members of the SRU council of trustees.

Michael Zieg, acting provost, will present candidates for degrees, as well as Dan Bauer, dean, College of Liberal Arts; Keith Dills, dean, College of Education; Lawrence Shao, dean, College of Business; and Nicole Dafoe, interim dean, College of Health, Environment and Science; for their respective colleges.

Don Huddart, '87, past president of the SRU Alumni Association, will welcome the graduates as new SRU alumni on behalf of the association.

The "Star-Spangled Banner" and the "SRU Alma Mater" will be sung by a quartet of SRU students: Leah Buczek, a senior music performance major from New Castle; Hannah D'Egidio, a junior dual music education and political science major from Industry; Zachary Esch, a junior music education major from Pittsburgh; Shaun Klein, a senior music education major from East Brady.

Student marshals and University flag bearers for each ceremony include the following graduating students who will hold their respective college flag or the SRU flag, respectively, for their ceremony:

  • Abbey Hoover, a secondary education major from Dunbar (Graduate Studies).
  • Alyssa Peters, a social work major from Shelocta (Graduate Studies).
  • Christopher Galbraith, a dual accounting and corporate security major from Gibsonia (College of Business).
  • Elizabeth Manley, a dual safety management and English writing major from Altoona (College of Business).
  • Amy Myers, a dual English literature and philosophy major from Morgantown, West Virginia (College of Liberal Arts).
  • Denise Vonada, a dual theatre and psychology major from Nicholson (College of Liberal Arts).
  • Kristen Forrester, an early childhood education major from Indiana (College of Education).
  • Emily Schaaf, an exercise science major from Girard (College of Health, Engineering and Science).
  • Rachel Southwick, an exercise science major from Titusville (College of Health, Engineering and Science).

Additional information is available on the University's commencement webpage, by calling 724.738.2849 or by emailing the Commencement Office at

MEDIA CONTACT: Justin Zackal | 724.738.4854  |