SRU reorganizes college to address program growth


Vincent Science Hall

May 29, 2019

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. — Slippery Rock University's College of Health, Environment and Science is undergoing reorganization and renaming in order to accommodate program growth and more accurately reflect its mission.

The University announced today that the college would be reorganized to include three schools and renamed the College of Health, Engineering and Science.

"After months of conversations with academic leadership, college faculty and APSCUF (faculty union) leadership, we're pleased to move forward under this new structure to further enhance student and marketplace needs," SRU President William Behre said.

"Over the past few years we've experienced significant growth, particularly in the areas of engineering and health. It was critical that we respond with the appropriate management structure that will allow continued growth and the flexibility to be innovative and agile as opportunities present themselves," Behre said.

The College of Health, Engineering and Science will retain all current programs and continue under the leadership of Jerry Chmielewski, dean.

The School of Health Professions will include the departments of: athletic training; exercise and rehabilitative sciences; nursing; occupational therapy; physical therapy; physician assistant studies; public health and social work; and recreational therapy. The Inter-Professional Education Collaborative and Storm Harbor Equestrian Center also will reside in the school. Kurt Schimmel will serve as the interim assistant to the dean for the School of Health Professions. Schimmel, a professor in the School of Business, formerly served as the dean of the SRU College of Business.

The School of Science will include the departments/programs of: biology; chemistry; computing and cybersecurity; geography, geology and the environment; mathematics and statistics; parks and conservation; physics; and psychology. The School will also house the Center for Cybersecurity and Advanced Computing, the Macoskey Center and the Statistical Consulting Center. An assistant to the dean for the School of Science will be named at a later date.

The School of Engineering will include the departments/programs of: civil; industrial and systems; mechanical; and petroleum and natural gas engineering. Steven Wei will continue to serve as program director. Wei is a professor of physics and engineering.

Behre said, "Where departments do not yet exist, chair elections will be conducted in accordance with collective bargaining procedures."

Patty Pierce, current assistant to the dean for the college, will continue to serve in that role.

"Establishing three schools within the college is a milestone for the University and a testament to the vision and hard work of faculty and staff to develop and implement the programs that continue to attract high-achieving students to the University. I'm excited for what the future will bring," Behre said.

All changes are effective immediately.