SRU hosting 2022 fall commencement ceremony Dec. 10 


Fall Commencement is December 10th

More than 580 Slippery Rock University students are eligible to receive their degrees at SRU fall commencement ceremony, Dec. 10. 

Dec. 5, 2022

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. — Slippery Rock University will host its 2022 fall commencement ceremony, 11 a.m., Dec. 10, at the Morrow Field House. There are more than 580 students eligible to graduate and participate in the ceremony. Graduate students and undergraduates from each of SRU's five colleges will receive their degrees in one ceremony.

Electronic tickets are required for entry and each graduate will be provided up to four guest tickets. All ceremonies will be livestreamed on for those friends and family members without a ticket, unable to attend in person, or who prefer to watch the ceremony online. Additionally, there will be three livestream viewing locations on campus for guests without tickets at the Russell Wright Alumni House.

The commencement speaker will be Michael O'Hare, a 1974 SRU graduate with a degree in elementary education. O'Hare is a retired vice president at Snyder's of Hanover, who helped expand the regional snack food company's distribution network to coverage throughout the United States. After retiring in 2012, he and his wife Becky moved to Sunset Beach, North Carolina, where they currently reside. He is active among SRU alumni groups and has established several scholarships supporting SRU students.

Larry McCarthy, assistant professor of accounting, economics and finance, will serve as grand marshal and will open the ceremony. Robertha Abney, associate professor of sport management, hospitality and tourism, will serve as faculty marshal.

SRU President William Behre will provide remarks and confer the degrees. There will also be greetings from Dan LaVallee on behalf of the SRU council of trustees.

Michael Zieg, interim provost and vice president for academic affairs, will present candidates for degrees, as well as Dan Bauer, dean, College of Liberal Arts; Nicole Dafoe, interim dean, College of Engineering and Science; Keith Dills, dean, College of Education; Christina Karshin, dean, College of Health Professions; and Lawrence Shao, dean, College of Business, for their respective colleges.

Melissa Visco, '04, president of the SRU Alumni Association, will welcome the graduates as new SRU alumni on behalf of the association.

The "Star-Spangled Banner" and the "SRU Alma Mater" will be sung by a quartet of SRU students: Leah Buczek, a senior music performance major from New Castle; Hannah D'Egidio, a senior music education major from Industry; Zachary Esch, a senior music education major from Pittsburgh; Shaun Klein, a senior music performance major from East Brady.

Student marshals and University flag bearers include the following graduating students who will hold their respective college flag or the SRU flag for the ceremony:

  • Elijah McClymonds, a mathematics major from Portersville (University Flag Bearer).
  • Alexis Aiello, a safety management major from Harrison City (College of Business).
  • Koryn Jones-Garman, an early childhood/special education major from Reading (College of Education).
  • Hunter Dittman, a biology major from West Sunbury (College of Engineering and Science).
  • Vincent Correia, a psychology major from McKees Rocks (College of Health Professions).
  • Amy Christensen, a homeland security major from Butler (College of Liberal Arts).
  • Andrea Platt, a technology for online instruction major from Zelienople (Graduate Studies).

Additional information is available on the University's commencement webpage, by calling 724.738.2849 or by emailing the Commencement Office at

MEDIA CONTACT: Justin Zackal | 724.738.4854  |