SRU students recognized by NBS-AERho


April 2, 2020

Slippery Rock University students were recognized in four categories in awards presented at the 2020 National Broadcasting Society-Alpha Epsilon Rho: National Electronic Media Association’s national convention.

Haley Potter, a senior communication major from Leechburg, and Ronald McNerney, a senior communication major from Pittsburgh, earned first place in the National Undergraduate Student Electronic Media Competition’s Video Feature Package category for their entry titled “Keystone Safari.” 

WSRU-TV, SRU’s student-run television broadcast and video production company, was recognized by the NBS as “Model Chapter of the Year,” while Hannah Shumsky, a senior secondary education-English major from Conway, received an honorable mention for NBS Member of the Year, and Ian Swartz, a senior communication major from Greensburg, received an honorable mention for NBS Rookie Member of the Year.

Students did not travel to the NBS-AERho convention but awards were announced via a video presentation from the convention site in Burbank, California. NBS is an organization that enhances the development of college students by preparing them for careers in electronic media industries. There are 60 NBS chapters comprised of nearly 1,000 students.