SRU safety management majors receive ASSE scholarships


April 17, 2018

Two Slippery Rock University safety management majors received scholarships from the American Society of Safety Engineers Foundation.

Makenzie Herbinko, a junior safety management major from Allison Park, received the Bechtel Corporation Impact Scholarship for Safety and Health, a $10,000 award; while Tyler Vanchure, a junior safety management major from Dubois, received the Lancaster County Industrial Safety Council Scholarship, a $1,000 award in honor of Craig Schroll and Jan Getz.
The ASSE is the world's oldest professional safety society, with more than 36,000 members who represent occupational safety professionals. Each year, the ASSE's foundation awards nearly 150 scholarships and professional education grants ranging from $500 to $15,000 to recipients demonstrating leadership, professional excellence and integrity.