The Rocket recognized in CSPA Gold Circle Awards


April 26, 2018

The Rocket, the independent, student-run newspaper at Slippery Rock University, earned recognition in the 2018 Gold Circle Awards for Digital Media from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association.

Eric Davies, a junior communication major from Harveys Lake, won Best in Video Documentary for "Students March in Support of Faculty Union."

Adam Zook, a sophomore communication major from Tyrone, placed third in both the Best in Breaking News and Best in News Writing categories for "PASSHE Chancellor Frank Brogan Steps Down" and "New Title IX Restrictions to Have Little Impact on SRU students," respectively.

Jordyn Bennett, a 2017 graduate with a degree in communication from Chester, placed third in the Best in Sports Features category for "Former All-American Headed to Canada for a Second Chance."

Victoria Davis, a senior dual major in English literature and interdisciplinary programs from Pittsburgh, and Daniel DiFabio, a senior communication major from Washington, received an honorable mention in the Best in Breaking News category for "Two SRU Students Arrested in National Online Fraud Operation."

The CSPA is an international student press association that unites student journalists and faculty advisers through educational conferences, idea exchanges, textbooks, critiques and award programs. The Gold Circle Awards honor CSPA members in 165 categories and judged by experienced journalists and educators to recognize superior work by student journalists.